In Which I Learn To Fear The Internet, Again

Standard

Sometimes trying something new leads to amazing discoveries, and that was the case with The Silence of Six. It isn’t my usual read, but I was looking for a book that some of my guy readers might enjoy, and I certainly found it. This one is full of action and suspense. I don’t often give five stars, but I’m still thinking about it a week after I read it. Gals and grown-ups, don’t think this won’t appeal to you. The protagonist and the plot transcend gender and age!

The Silence of SixThe Silence of Six by E.C. Myers
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher and Net Galley in exchange for a fair review

When Max’s best friend and fellow hacker kills himself in a very public forum, Max realizes that he must unravel the knot of information left in his charge. This was an awesome YA read. There was plenty of action and, after the first few chapters, it was hard to put down. I seriously read it straight through in just a few hours. I’m not a computer pro, but I was easily able to follow the storyline and the details. The main character was engaging and his narration would appeal to both genders. The threat to the characters seemed imminent and real. I thought this was tightly plotted and well paced, though I did think there was a slight lull while the reader gained important background info near the beginning. It does pick back up pretty quickly, though, so just hang in there! Best, there is some depth to this book with themes about friendship and trust. There are also some messages about personal information and privacy that any citizen in this digital age could stand to hear, but it is not preachy or pedantic. This book was appropriate for all ages, and I know lots of my high school students will love this, but I think it is appealing to an older crowd as well. If you haven’t seen the trailer, you should take a look!

Look for this in our classroom library starting March 19, 2015

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

