Meira Can Also Kick Your Butt (If They Would Ever Let Her Show Her Mad Skills!).

Standard
Meira Can Also Kick Your Butt (If They Would Ever Let Her Show Her Mad Skills!).

Snow like Ashes is not a retelling of Snow White. That is not Xena’s chakrum on the cover, nor is the symbol meant to evoke Divergent-like dystopia. This is a fantasy book made for those who aren’t really sure they want to read fantasy. If you like female protagonists who can kill you or me or forces of immortal evil, this is the book for you. I recommend it to fans of the Throne of Glass series by Sara J. Maas who are beginning the long wait for book number three. Again, I haven’t met a perfect book, but this one was certainly enjoyable and had a very likeable love interest — he isn’t Gilbert Blythe, but he is guaranteed to turn the heads of the modern girl. It did cause me Nerdy Book Girl problem #335 (I read the whole thing in one sitting and now I have to wait an entire year for the sequel).
IMG_0120.JPG
Snow Like Ashes Sara Raasch
Hardcover, 422 pages
Published October 14th 2014 by Balzer + Bray

Goodreads Summary
A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes, #1)Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
True to the summary given. A strong female protagonist on a heroine’s journey. I predicted a good portion of the surprise ending, but that didn’t keep me from enjoying every minute of it. These folks were too busy fighting to really have more than the most innocent of sensual scenes, and the language was appropriate for all ages. Adding it to my classroom library and recommending it to my fans of the Throne of Glass series and the My Fair Assassins fans. Solid purchase.

View all my reviews

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Impostor Queen  | Handheld Dream

Leave a Reply

