In Which I consider dropping everything to become a member of a Pro Gaming Team despite the fact that I never once, not ever, saved Princess Peach.

Standard
In Which I consider dropping everything to become a member of a Pro Gaming Team despite the fact that I never once, not ever, saved Princess Peach.

Sometimes I feel like I have to read a guy book just to be fair to my male students, and I usually drag my feet because they are just not my thing. In Real Life by Lawrence Tabak was no exception to this process, and I can’t believe I almost let this one slip past me! This book completely drew me in. Engaging character, interesting situations, and a narrative voice that reads as genuine teen guy. I really enjoyed this book and cannot wait to get a copy in my classroom library. The author actually commented on my Goodreads review and said he wrote this for his son, a gamer guy, because he had a hard time finding engaging books. Well, he did his son a solid with this book! If you enjoyed The Silence of Six or Ready Player One, this is definitely a book to add to your TBR list.
IMG_0132.JPG

In Real Life Lawrence Tabak
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published November 11th 2014 by Tuttle Publishing

Goodreads Summary
Fifteen-year-old math prodigy Seth Gordon knows exactly what he wants to do with his life—play video games. Every spare minute is devoted to honing his skills at Starfare, the world’s most popular computer game. His goal: South Korea, where the top pros are rich and famous. But the best players train all day, while Seth has school and a job and divorced parents who agree on only one thing: “Get off that damn computer.” Plus there’s a new distraction named Hannah, an aspiring photographer who actually seems to understand his obsession.

While Seth mopes about his tournament results and mixed signals from Hannah, Team Anaconda, one of the leading Korean pro squads, sees something special. Before he knows it, it’s goodbye Kansas, goodbye Hannah, and hello to the strange new world of Korea. But the reality is more complicated than the fantasy, as he faces cultural shock, disgruntled teammates, and giant pots of sour-smelling kimchi.

What happens next surprises Seth. Slowly, he comes to make new friends, and discovers what might be a breakthrough, mathematical solution to the challenges of Starcraft. Delving deeper into the formulas takes him in an unexpected direction, one that might just give him a new focus—and reunite him with Hannah.

In Real LifeIn Real Life by Lawrence Tabak
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I am so glad I got a chance to read this! Don’t ignore this book because it is about gaming — it was easy to follow and even interesting to read about in this context. Don’t ignore this book because there is a male protagonist — this character is appealing to both male and female readers. Seth reads as a genuine teen, and there is a depth to his growth that is very engaging. This is a Bildungsroman, so the real goal in this book is to see the character grow and mature as a human. While there is some action in this story, there is a lot of thinking, too, so don’t expect the book to read like a video game. I gave this book five stars, not because I thought it was perfect, because it wasn’t, but it had soul and depth to it, something that is often found in ya books with female protagonists, but more elusive in ya books with male protagonists. The topic will draw high school boys to the book, and I think they will stick with it because it is genuinely good. Language and light sensuality are appropriate for ages 13+. Interest level is high school and beyond. I added it to my classroom library wish list and I have already recommended it to our school librarian.

View all my reviews

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

