In which the female protagonist doesn’t have to marry or breed in a YA dystopian. For once.

Standard
In which the female protagonist doesn’t have to marry or breed in a YA dystopian. For once.

Under My Skin is releasing on Tuesday, December 9. It is up against several good books releasing that day, so it might not be on your radar yet, but it should be. I know that the dystopian bubble is bursting right now, but Under My Skin reads as more science fiction than teen dystopian romance. No one has to get married or knocked up — this one goes in a different direction, with much more horrifying results. Big Brother hasn’t got anything on these people when it comes to invading personal privacy! The cover screams The Selection, but don’t be fooled — Tate is a character much more likely to study The Art of War than an Emily Post book on manners.
Under My SkinUnder My Skin by Shawntelle Madison
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

Tate has plans for her future. When she unexpectedly passes the mandatory test to be apprenticed to the Water Bearers, everything changes. She never wanted the pampered life promised to a Water Bearer. She never asked to be swept into the privileged life of the ruling class. She never could have anticipated the true horrors that come with passing that simple little test. I was quite surprised by the direction this book went. This was a new twist on dystopia that I have not seen before. Engaging and mysterious, suspenseful and tense, this book kept me guessing all the way to the end. The writing stumbled a little bit in the scenes following the test — I found myself overwhelmed with character names and unclear pronouns for a few pages, but it quickly righted itself and was consistently strong through the rest of the novel. I also felt like the light romance was a misstep. It was a very minor subplot, but when it did crop up, it felt like it came out of nowhere and was based on nothing. Please alert the media that every ya book doesn’t have to have romance, especially one that has such an interesting major conflict. I am adding this to my high school classroom library wish list. I think many of my students will be drawn to the cover and the premise. Language and light romance make this appropriate for all ages.

View all my reviews

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

