Princess of Thorns Lives Up To And Beyond The Hype

Standard
Princess of Thorns Lives Up To And Beyond The Hype

Stacey Jay’s Princess of Thorns is my favorite of all the books publishing today and one of my top picks for 2014. Aurora is Sleeping Beauty’s daughter, and things did not turn out happily ever after. This is her journey to put things right. If you want a retelling, look somewhere else, but if you want some wonderfully flawed characters and a Grim-like fairy tale setting, this is what you are looking for.

Princess of ThornsPrincess of Thorns by Stacey Jay
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I’m very, very grateful to have received an ARC of this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Princess Aurora knows the time has come to take her stand against the evil that destroyed her family. She knows that the fate of humanity and her kingdom hangs on a delicate balance that she can so easily tip. Determined to raise an army to her side, she impulsively sets out and finds her only ally is a overly charming prince with his own ticking curse who doesn’t even realize she is a girl. I adored this book. The plot was original without betraying its origins, and the characters were real and flawed in such wonderful ways. The pacing was strong and moved the story, the character development, and the romance along at a satisfying pace. The suspense was sustained throughout, and I honestly had no idea if or how the writer was going to resolve the conflicts that developed. I am so excited for this book to come out because my high school readers are going to fight over every copy I can procure! The language is appropriate and the sensuality is tasteful, so I would recommend it for seventh grade and up, but adult readers will find it engaging and satisfying as well.  

View all my reviews

Available in our classroom library on March 18, 2015!

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

