Suspicion has a lot of atmosphere, but not much else. Try to resist that cover, though!

Standard
Suspicion has a lot of atmosphere, but not much else. Try to resist that cover, though!

Suspicion by Alexandra Monir was a bit of a disappointment. It promised Downton Abbey meets something else I adored, but it really didn’t deliver that. Instead, it was more Rebecca meets The Princess Diaries with a magical element I hadn’t bargained for. Which still sounds good, right? Well . . . I think if you are a discerning reader, you could pass this one up, but most of us are not able to resist such a pretty cover, so prepare yourself for a lukewarm suspense in a nicely developed atmosphere. I rated it four out of five stars because I think that it is a well paced, light YA suspense that many of my high school students will enjoy, but most adult readers will probably find it lackluster and silly.

SuspicionSuspicion by Alexandra Monir
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

In 2007, a tragedy took Imogene far from the life of nobility she was born into; in 2014, a tragedy brings her back home as the new Duchess. As she wrestles with her new station, Imogene also struggles with powers that seem to come alive when she sets foot on her new estate. Questions about her cousin’s death haunt her as she works to uncover the mysteries surrounding the origins of her powers. The strength of this novel is really the atmosphere, which manages to be lightly dark and menacing. Readers will understand why Imogene is troubled by what she encounters in her new home, but it seems perfectly reasonable that she doesn’t feel overwhelmingly threatened and seek out help. It evoked memories of one of my favorite British suspense reads, Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca (which I can never get any of my high school students to read, even when I promise them it is going to rock their world). The plot is far-fetched, even for a book with supernatural elements, and most of the twists were predictable, but it moves along at a nice pace. Imogene is a fairly well developed protagonist, though the other characters are rather one dimensional. I enjoyed reading Suspicion and I think my high school students will as well. Though I didn’t think this was a perfect read, none of the flaws diminished my enjoyment. This is a YA thriller, written for a YA audience, so the intensity is dialed down. It is a light read with a haunted note that I enjoyed curling up with for a few hours of escapism on a cold and rainy afternoon. Language and light sensuality appropriate for 13+.

 

This book is available in the MHS library.

 

View all my reviews</

IMG_0107.JPG

Someone deserves a raise for this cover art!

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

