The Book that made me Horrifyingly Nostalgic About My Awkward Teen Love Life

Standard
The Book that made me Horrifyingly Nostalgic About My Awkward Teen Love Life

I attempt to block out most of my own teen years, but every once in a while, something slips past my defenses and I find myself waxing nostalgic: the “Teen Spirit” video plays, an episode of The Wonder Years shows up, my Doc Martin’s surface from the closet at my mom’s house. We Should Hang Out Sometime was one such stealth attack. It isn’t a perfect book, but I thought it was a funny, honest, and heartfelt narrative. It wasn’t until a few hours later that I realized I was thinking about a certain seventh grade kiss-that-was-planned-but-never-meant-to-be. It was suppose to happen on the small bridge that spanned the toxic waste-filled creek flowing through the apartment complex next door to my house. Super romantic. It didn’t happen. I decided the romance was going nowhere and broke it off the next day in the choir room at the junior high. Seriously. Grown Woman thinking about junior high. Anyway, this was an ARC I received from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for my honest review. I honestly liked it a lot.
We Should Hang Out Sometime: Embarrassingly, a true storyWe Should Hang Out Sometime: Embarrassingly, a true story by Josh Sundquist
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Told in an engagingly humorous narrative voice, Josh rehashes his awkward attempts at romance from his early teens to his young twenties to decipher exactly where he went wrong and how he managed to be twenty before his first kiss. This is such a funny and endearing little nonfiction read. There are hilarious infographics and a faux scientific method charting his continued failures at connecting with the girls he loved. I was delighted and sympathetically laughing all the way through, cause this guy just couldn’t read a signal to save his life! I don’t ever willingly read nonfiction, and I didn’t realize this was nonfiction until I was hooked, but this book was worth every minute I spent reading it. It evokes nostalgia in me, a former awkward dater, but I think my high school students will find this funny and inspiring and comforting in a world were they believe everybody is hooking up and they are the only ones who can’t seem to get it right. This is a clean read — like I said, first kiss at twenty, so it is appropriate for grades seven and up. I’m adding it to my high school classroom library wish list
.

View all my reviews

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

