Revenge is Sweet, Until it Isn’t in Gone Too Far

Standard
Revenge is Sweet, Until it Isn’t in <em>Gone Too Far</em>

So, my last days of being a high school senior saw me seeking my own form of revenge on the Queens of my high school. I might have left a little message about them . . . In spray paint. It felt so empowering until it didn’t. That sick-making feeling Is still something I can recall. Listening to those girls at graduation practice accusing a bunch of sophomores for my stunt sent me into a panic. The main character in Too Far Gone experiences a similar emotion, but a little cover up paint can’t hide her mistake.

The first book by this author was disappointing, but Gone Too Far was a tense and suspenseful read that I will happily recommend to my high school students. The vaguely menacing vibe that wafts through every page of this book kept me reading, and the tendrils of mistrust wormed deep – I suspected every character in this book, and I was not disappointed by the ending, even when I realized the answer had been there all along. If you are a grown up, chances are that this book will bore you with its angst about popularity and teen relationships. If you are a teen reader, this is a pretty plausible scenario with some lessons about empathy, sympathy, and the best of intentions. As far as contemporary YA suspense goes, this is a pretty good read – four stars in my opinion. While there is mention of a sex tape, the depiction isn’t graphic, and it is a timely issue for high school students today. Language and situations put this in the grade 9+ bracket.
2015/01/img_0198.jpg
Gone Too Far Natalie D. Richards
Paperback, 304 pages
Published January 6th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire

Goodreads Summary
Keeping secrets ruined her life. But the truth might just kill her.

Piper Woods can’t wait for the purgatory of senior year to end. She skirts the fringes of high school like a pro until the morning she finds a notebook with mutilated photographs and a list of student sins. She’s sure the book is too gruesome to be true, until pretty, popular Stella dies after a sex-tape goes viral. Everyone’s sure it’s suicide, but Piper remembers Stella’s name from the book and begins to suspect something much worse.

Drowning in secrets she doesn’t want to keep, Piper’s fears are confirmed when she receives an anonymous text message daring her to make things right. All she needs to do is choose a name, the name of someone who deserves to be punished . . .

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

