Aliens Kidnapped My Brother

Standard

Aliens, decimated human population, and a strong female protagonist on a quest are the key components of Broken Skies by Theresa Kay. I find all of those things compelling, so I started this book with high expectations. It didn’t take me long to get through this book, and I enjoyed it well enough. It wasn’t until it was time to reflect that I realized exactly how many times this book sidestepped great opportunities to develop a more fully realized world. YA readers who enjoyed Blood Red Road or The Fifth Wave will probably be interested in this book, but they will find Broken Skies a little anemic regarding world building and emotional punch when compared side by side with either of those books
2015/01/img_0121.jpg

Broken Skies (Broken Skies, #1)Broken Skies by Theresa Kay
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Jax lives in a future where 90% of the human population died out and aliens occupy a portion of the lonely world. The aliens keep to themselves for the most part, but in a chance encounter, Jax’s brother is kidnapped by them and she is left saddled with a wounded alien. The mission to get her brother back will require Jax to ally herself with this enemy. This is a mix of things I like — strong female protagonist, journey through a deserted and dangerous world, alien encounters. The romantic elements that develop are not the overly emotional ones seen in a lot of YA, and the relationships that Jax forms with others hold true to her character. I loved that the deep felt mistrust between humans and aliens wasn’t erased by a few days of knowing each other and kept me from ever really knowing who was trustworthy. As with many abrasive characters who can’t seem to follow directions given for their own good, it was hard for me to like Jax in the beginning. She eventually grew on me, but it took awhile. The action and pacing were uneven — the journey, especially, rushed and dragged in intervals. The language and situations are appropriate for 7th grade and up.

View all my reviews

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

