One Time I Was A Fangirrl of something that wasn’t a book. Now it has a book. Haha! Life is sweet!

Standard
One Time I Was A Fangirrl of something that wasn’t a book. Now it has a book. Haha! Life is sweet!

Veronica Mars. Such a smart show. Such an excellent character — she had outsider status, a sassy attitude, and a quest for the truth. I fan girrrled, even though I was a grown woman. When I found out another English teacher’s son had a small part in an episode, I almost lost my mind with excitement (I never met Robert Baker — he played a college age villain that trapped Wallace’s girlfriend in a scam — his mother deduced my mania and, alas, she kept him from school grounds until I moved away. I would have played it cool, though. Seriously). When the movie actually came to fruition, I plotted and planned how I could abandon my husband and children to get to a town big enough to screen it (crisis averted by Amazon Prime’s same day release). When I found books (BOOKS!!!) that followed V’s life after the movie, I had to have them. I got super lucky with the second one and got an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. If you, too, are a fan, even one a little less obsessed than me, you are going to want to read Mr. Kiss and Tell. It’s not perfect, but I just can’t resist.

2015/01/img_0124.jpg

Mr. Kiss and Tell is the second book following the movie, and you are going to be flying blind if you don’t start with the first, The Thousand Dollar Tan Line. The books are true to the characters and the snappy, snarky dialogue is the same as always. I love how I hear character voices when I read these books! While it is very nostalgic for me to revisit characters I loved and hated, I particularly like how, though true to their original characters, time and maturity has impacted most of them in some way. In this particular book, it was really interesting to see those results play out in both the character of Logan and the character of Weevil. As usual, just when I thought a case was solved, it twisted around and surprised me, so the plot won’t disappoint. I did think a lot of the character development slowed the plot down this time, but that isn’t really a problem if you are reading for characters anyway. I was glad to see a Manning, as Meg has haunted me for years, and the image of little Grace in the closet can still be brought up vividly in my mid’s eye. While fans of the show will find this book very appealing, I’m not sure how well it would work for readers who haven’t had exposure to VM. I, myself, will eagerly await the next book!

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

