Primitive Culture, Mystical Powers and Some Pretty Vicious Sheep

Standard
Primitive Culture, Mystical Powers and Some Pretty Vicious Sheep

Ever Darkening by Janeal Falor looked like something I would love to read. Alas, it fell flat for me. I don’t know how a book with insane attacking sheep failed to wrap itself around my heart, but it just did. Perhaps you will like it more — many reviewers seemed to.

2015/01/img_0127.jpg

Goodreads Summary
Perfection. Goodness. Elimination of evil. It’s what seventeen-year-old Kaylyn has trained her entire life to achieve. But no one is prepared for the consequences of her actually defeating all evil people on the planet. Finally successful in her mission, Kaylyn faces an unfamiliar world, full of good people doing good things, in which she no longer has purpose.

When the skies grow dark, and a stranger from another village pleads for her help, her instincts roar to life. It turns out their perfect world isn’t exactly what it seems. Kaylyn’s new quest, harder than any she’s been on before, will rip apart her friendships, her life, and her soul more than any evil man ever managed to.

Ever DarkeningEver Darkening by Janeal Falor
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. After Kaylyn kills off the last evil being in her world, something she’s been training for since childhood, she uncovers the unexpected consequences of her actions. Guilty and afraid, Kaylyn struggles once again to save the people she has always been charged with protecting. This is exactly something I would read, but it fell flat for me. I liked the primitive vibe I got from the people and their society. I liked the insane attacking sheep. I liked the supernatural power that Kaylyn and her people have, and I loved Kaylyn’s intense loyalty to her sister. However, I think the purity of the main character makes it hard to really feel a connection with her. Balance is key in everything, and her light never has a real moment when it falters, and that weakens the very internal struggle that is suppose to fuel the plot. The fact that people in the book are either wholly good or wholly bad messes with the overall theme. At times, the dialogue was stiff and the prose was choppy. The language and situations are appropriate for grades 7+.

View all my reviews

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

