The Making of the Modern Monster

Standard
The Making of the Modern Monster

Hades is an adult book, which is not what I usually blog about, but I think it would appeal to a sector of YA readers who have grown up watching CSI. Think Hannibal Lector. Think Dexter. But skip the boring parts and jump in with a book that tells you how monsters are made. Maybe it was the near fatal blow to the head. Maybe it was the shock of watching both parents brutally murdered. Whatever it was, it definitely created a warped brother and sister duo who only play at being normal when they are wearing their uniforms.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, and I’m really glad I did!

Brother and sister, Eric and Eden, are raised by a “fixer” for the criminal world after they survive the murder of their parents. They become cops when he decides it will be the best place to disguise their murderous impulses and misguided sense of justice. In this book, they are looking for a serial killer who plays a cruel game of survival of the worthiest. I really enjoyed this book. It definitely evokes Dexter, but it begins with the essential — the genesis of the modern monsters. That is always the part that I find most interesting, and this book didn’t make me wait for it like so many others in the genre do. I thought the narrator, Frank, Eden’s new partner, was unlikeable for the majority of the book, but I understood the rationale behind making him a less than stellar human by the end. There were flaws, but I thought this was ultimately an enjoyable book. If you enjoyed Dexter or the Hannibal books, this is one to put on your TBR list. Language and situations make this appropriate for adult readers.

Goodreads Summary

A dark, compelling and original thriller that will have you spellbound from its atmospheric opening pages to its shocking climax. Hades is the debut of a stunning new talent in crime fiction.

Hades Archer, the man they call the Lord of the Underworld, surrounds himself with the things others leave behind. Their trash becomes the twisted sculptures that line his junkyard. The bodies they want disposed of become his problem for a fee. Then one night a man arrives on his doorstep, clutching a small bundle that he wants ‘lost’. And Hades makes a decision that will change everything…

Twenty years later, homicide detective Frank Bennett feels like the luckiest man on the force when he meets his new partner, the dark and beautiful Eden Archer. But there’s something strange about Eden and her brother, Eric. Something he can’t quite put his finger on. When the two detectives are called to the scene of an attempted drowning, they find a traumatised victim telling a story that’s hard to believe – until the divers start bringing up bodies.

Frank is now on the hunt for a very different kind of serial killer: one who offers the sick and dying hope at murderous cost. At first, his partner’s sharp instincts come in handy. Soon, he’s wondering if she’s as dangerous as the man they hunt.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

