Inherit Midnight A Dark and Engaging YA Adventure

Standard
<em>Inherit Midnight</em> A Dark and Engaging YA Adventure

Inherit Midnight by Kate Kae Myers has been betrayed by the publisher’s blurb. It implies that teen black sheep, Avery, is going to compete in a lighthearted competition with her family members to see who inherits the family’s vast wealth. She competes alright, but there is nothing lighthearted about her family. Seriously, no drunk uncle or uppity cousin you have compares to this cut-throat crew. Darker than I expected. More intense and engaging as well. If you like suspense and betrayal in your around-the-world scavenger hunts, this is a book to add to your TBR list.

My rating: 4 stars

IMG_0136

Avery has been raised by her grandmother, a rich and distant woman, because her mother is dead and her alcoholic father is always missing in action. The stifling demands made by Avery’s grandmother have forced Avery to rebel in tiny ways, but one rebellion is documented and sent to her grandmother who immediately sends Avery to a prison-like boarding school. Isolated and ignored, Avery attempts to escape from the school only to learn the way out of her nightmarish limbo is to actively participate in her grandmother’s inheritance and heritage challenge. With no real support, a vicious group of competitors, and few resources, Avery accepts the help of one of her grandmother’s lawyers and sets out on the adventure that will reveal a lot about her past and who she really is inside. I read this straight through because I found the storyline compelling, and I had a genuine interest I finding out what would happen to Avery. There are a few over-the-top events, but they didn’t take away from my enjoyment of the story. There is a nice pace, and nothing is drawn out too long. There is a good attempt to round out some of the characters beyond the protagonist, which allows many of the relationships to seem likely. I think YA readers will warm to both Avery and Riley quickly, and I think they will feel compelled to follow this one to its resolution. I’m definitely adding this one to my classroom library wish list, and I’m going to recommend it to our school librarian. Language, situations and interest level will probably be high school, but I wouldn’t stop younger readers from giving it a try.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

