Shadows, Shadows – four teens, a seductive power, and a horrifying obligation

Standard
Shadows, Shadows – four teens, a seductive power, and a horrifying obligation

What if you could just erase your worst enemy?  What if you had to erase someone to protect those you love?  



If you could make someone disappear who would it be?  Four teens in the town of Shadow Pines will contemplate that decision when on their sixteenth birthday they are given a very special gift – a box that is triggered with a single hair and a spell.  There are rules – if one of them uses the shadow box to make someone disappear, they all must do the same or the shadows will take someone they love in exchange.  When the rules start twisting and things get out of hand, the question becomes whether any of them will be able to do what it takes to end the madness.  This was a very compelling psychological thriller, perfect for the YA reader who likes their tension with a side of horror.  The primary narrator is Harley, resident bad girl of Shadow Pines High, and her straightforward and cynical attitude towards the town and even her own future makes her real and believable — I trusted her almost immediately and found that my trust was surprisingly well placed.  Teaghan, the stuttering wallflower is the other narrator, and though she is less charasmatic than Harley as a character and as a narrator, her perspective is one many teens will find they can relate to and sympathize with.  There isn’t nonstop action, but there is a lot of tension that comes from the reader’s own assumptions about the key characters.  I spent a lot of time guessing (usually incorrectly) about who had just bought themselves a ticket to the shadows.  This book was well written and well plotted, with a satisfying ending that leaves readers with just the right amount of curiosity to pick up the next.  I wasn’t really sure what I was getting into with this book, but the sample chapters hooked me and I think they will do the same for any other reader who gives it a chance.  

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

