American Girl on Saturn will let you indulge in your secret boy band crush (you know you have one).  

Standard

Look, the cover doesn’t do anything for me, but I really, really liked this contemporary YA romance, so just don’t look at it.  It has fun — look for the fake fridge twitter, a twinkle light treehouse for late night trysts, a wish lantern scene that ends with a five year old screaming, “I hate my life.”  It also has a hot musician in a boy band (ugh, just stop looking at that stupid cover — that isn’t him!).  Rock star books are my thing, so I am always glad to find one that isn’t full of graphic sexual situations. This is a sweet story and it is appropriate for all readers.  It’s free if you have Amazon’s Kindle Unlimited, and under $4 for the ebook if you don’t.  It was the best four dollars I’ve spent in a long time!



Goodreads Summary

The summer after graduation is supposed to be that first real taste of freedom – but not for eighteen-year-old Chloe Branson. Just as that breeze of freedom is making its way into her galaxy, her secret-service-agent dad drops a meteor-sized bomb of bad news on her and her sisters. An attempt has been made on the lives of Canadian boyband, Spaceships Around Saturn, during their USA tour, and the guys have to go into hiding ASAP. The only problem? In the midst of the crisis and media frenzy, their dad volunteered to hide the guys…in their house.

Six-year-old Emery is as ecstatic as any self-proclaimed Saturnite would be, but Chloe and her seventeen-year-old sister Aralie watch their summer plans crash and burn like a falling star. The SAS guys aren’t happy with the situation, either. Bad boy Jules picks fights with Aralie about everything from his Twitter followers to his laundry, and heart-throb Benji can’t escape Emery’s fangirlisms for more than three minutes.

But after the super-cute Milo kisses Chloe during a game of hide-and-seek, she finally understands what Emery means when she talks about SAS being “out of this world.” If this is what Saturn feels like, Chloe doesn’t want to come back to Earth. 

Not from the goodreads summary:  While I enjoyed the story, I did find a lot of cringeworthy writing. The metaphors were ridiculous and need to be toned down — bleeding butterflies, crushed ladybugs, etc.  It could use a good editor, but I still loved it.

This book is available in our classroom library!

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

