A haunted house, a malevolent spirit, and a possible parent possession -The Haunting of Sunshine Girl stacks the paranormal deck for a YA readers

Standard
A haunted house, a malevolent spirit, and a possible parent possession -The Haunting of Sunshine Girl stacks the paranormal deck for a YA readers

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl is a good choice for fans of YA paranormal and horror.  If you enjoyed the Maura Dyer series or if you like Katie Alender’s books, you will probably find this really engaging.  It is one of the better offerings in this genre because it really did create suspense and had a rather horrifying twist on the traditional haunted house theme.

 image

Sunshine moves to Washington with her mother and almost instantly knows something is wrong in her new house. With the help of a classmate, she tries to deal with the frightening changes in her mother’s behavior, a young ghost she feels compelled to protect, and a terrifyingly unpredictable entity. The paranormal activity is disturbing and distressing, but I would describe the book as intense more than scary. The plot moves quickly and the writing is compelling and engaging. Sunshine is a clear enough character, but the motivations and personalities of secondary characters were vague. This left some characters feeling a little flat. There were glimmers of a theme about finding and believing in your personal strength, but this book is more about entertaining readers than about leaving a lasting impression, and it was an entertaining read.  I encourage readers to look at the YouTube series this is based on, but I would wait until I finished the book.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

