Neverland by Shari Arnold is a whimsical and heartbreaking tale about moving on

Standard
Neverland by Shari Arnold is a whimsical and heartbreaking tale about moving on

  Neverland is a contemporary reimagining of Peter Pan that I found utterly enchanting.   It was a unique and compelling blend of whimsy and heartbreak. There was a depth to the themes that I didn’t anticipate being paired with the lighthearted story of my childhood, but the new perspective is such an amazing way to revisit Peter and Hook’s very different philosophies of moving forward.  Fans of fairy tale revisions will enjoy this book, as will readers who like little hint of magic in their romantic entanglements.  At times, it even reminded me of the wonder I found in reading The Night Circus where anything might be possible, and even simple things can hold a little surprising enchantment.  While I think YA readers will find this book quite captivating, adult readers will find it just as charming and just as moving.

  

 Livy is still mourning the death of her little sister when she meets Meyer, a boy who reintroduces her to life in a way she never could have expected. But the closer she comes to finding her way back from the dark, the more people seem to think she is distracting herself rather than truly dealing with her sorrow, especially her tutor, James.  Neverland is well paced to develop both the characters and the romantic relationship.  Readers will be quite enamored with Meyer, the romantic interest, because he is such a mystery but such a breath of fresh air in Livy’s life.   His brand of healing is unexpected and magical.  James, the antagonist, however is a different beast.  His enigmatic gestures will leave readers questioning whether his interactions with Livy are warnings, distraction, or comfort.  I still haven’t decided.  James wasn’t the only thing that threw me a little off balance.  I was so taken with the first part that I couldn’t put it down, but I have to say I had a hard time transitioning into the second part of the book because I just couldn’t accept what Meyer was selling.  The third part returned me to even ground, and I was quite happy with the resolution.  This is a book I can see myself revisiting whenever I need a little magic.

This book is publishing on April 7, 2015, and the $2.99 that the ebook is selling for is WELL worth spending.  It is on our classroom library wish list!

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

