The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler successfully revisits rich girl meets poor boy

Standard
The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler successfully revisits rich girl meets poor boy

While The Truth About Us isn’t as edgy as Simone Elkeles’ Perfect Chemistry, I think it is something that Elkeles fans will enjoy.  Rich girl, poor boy and adults who would love to keep them apart.  When you find that one person who just “gets” you, even if no one else can see how you two fit together, it is hard to imagine letting it go without a fight (at least in books). 

 
 

 When rich girl,  Jess, gets caught behaving badly, her father insists she volunteer at a local shelter and it changes her perspective on life.  When she meets Flynn and his little brother, patrons of the soup kitchen, her perspective on love gets a make-over as well.   But no one seems to think the spoiled rich girl and the boy from the wrong side of the tracks belong together, including Flynn.  This was a nicely paced and well written YA contemporary romance.  The well worn tale of rich girl, poor boy gets a nice revamp thanks to the complications in each of the main character’s households.  Jess was a character that I had a hard time liking at first, but as the picture of her life became clearer, I grew to see her good qualities more than her flaws.  I think there was a nice cast of minor characters, and I had an especial fondness for the cranky old man that Jess befriends.  Flynn was a good romantic interest right up until he wasn’t, and I had some trouble following his motives at the very end.  I was a little dissatisfied by the resolution, but I do think it is a realistic ending, so I was pleased that it was not as predictable as I assumed it would be.  Overall, I was quite taken with this book.  It was a more complex story than I expected from the cover and blurb, and there were nice messages about friendship, family, and responsibility.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

