The Truth About Jack – A YA Contemporary Romance that made me tired.  Very, very tired.

Standard
The Truth About Jack – A YA Contemporary Romance that made me tired.  Very, very tired.

Sometimes you just know you are going to be walking against the wind with an opinion, and I was pretty sure my thoughts about The Truth About Jack would be met with protest by many starry-eyed teens who loooved this book.  I get it that fifteen year old girls don’t find burly, bearded men attractive (what?), but Jack was the biggest whimp EVER, in every way possible, and a I refuse to concede that there is anything attractive about dating someone with the same social maturity of an eight year old with his first crush.  Whatever.  You can decide.  If you read this and think I’m a shriveled up, emotionless loser, feel free to comment.  This book goes on sale on April 14, 2015.

  

Dakota has everything planned out for her future until she learns her best friend and boyfriend hooked up, now the only thing that is certain is that she needs to get away.  Jack doesn’t have anything figured out, and the protective bubble his mother has blown around his life is stifling him, but when he sees Dakota, he knows he has to meet her.  A little maneuvering, some old fashioned lying, and a lot of bad manvice turns Jack into Alejandro — Dakota’s dream pen pal from Barcelona.  The potential for reward is high, and the potential for backfire is high, but Jack just can’t let Dakota go. 

 So, I didn’t care for this book.  The characters were too immature for me to take their problems seriously, and they were so far out in left field that I couldn’t relate to either of them – one of them lives in a yurt* in an artist’s colony and the other is an overprotected rich kid who isn’t allowed to drive himself anywhere.  My take — Dakota was a flake and Jack was a whimp with a proclivity for stalking.  I understand I am not the target audience, especially since I still can’t figure out the attraction for emo guys.  I know this was meant to be a sweet, gentle romance.  I’m sure some teens will probably think this is the most romantic thing they have ever read. Gha.  It was lighthearted drivel, but at least it didn’t get nasty.  Would I let my own child read it?  Sure, but I would follow it up with a discussion about being an empowered, savvy woman who doesn’t let boys dictate big life choices.

* Yurt

  

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

