Tempted by Paul Micheals proves that sometimes you can judge a book by its cover.  

Standard
Tempted by Paul Micheals proves that sometimes you can judge a book by its cover.  

Tempted looked like something from the island of misfit toys, and looks were not deceiving this time.  Sometimes a really cool book is waiting behind a strange cover, but this time I should have listened to my gut instinct.  It really wasn’t a terrible read, but it was just so weird.  If Harry Potter was added as a cast member to The Godfather movies, this might be the story you would end up with.  I gave it two stars, but a lot of other folks gave it many more on Goodreads, so maybe I’m the one with a problem (I’m not).

Goodreads Summary

When his father is murdered, leaving young Alexi Gallo as sole support for his heavily pregnant mother, he begins to wonder whether the family is doomed. Overwhelmed and with nowhere to turn, he reluctantly accepts a job paying easy money from a sinister stranger and is soon ensnared in the criminal underworld.

His irresistible attraction to the vulnerable Traci, who is an unwilling participant in the unlawful enterprise, entangles him even more deeply in a shadowy enigma, populated by ancient demons he knows to be all too real. The unexpected intervention of a powerful ‘uncle’ opens his eyes to a violent world of myth and the feuds within it. When a duel between immortals threatens to destroy the one surviving person he loves, Alexi determines to move heaven and earth to prevent the catastrophe looming over them.

But can he?

My thoughts

While there was a lot of potential in this book, there were several places where the lack of clarity and detail left me with questions.  I had real trouble placing this in time, so I didn’t ever get a firm mental picture of characters or setting. I kept picturing the sixties and seventies because it was heavy on the whole Godfather vibe, but I think that it was suppose to be more modern.  The descriptions and details that would have made that clearer were, for the most part, missing, so this book didn’t start the little movie that runs through my head when I read.   Another problem was the missing explanation about the supernatural element.  I’m still not sure what the entity was exactly, and the rules surrounding the magic involved were never explained.  While that certainly meant I had no idea what was going to happen next, it made it almost impossible to understand any of the magical battles that took place.  Readers aren’t the only ones who can’t figure out what is going on.  The main character is strung along for the entirety of the story, and I didn’t really see the advantage as it created more frustration than suspense.   In the end, it wasn’t a book that felt fine tuned, and I wouldn’t have finished reading it if I hadn’t requested a copy.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

