The Girl at Midnight is a light YA fantasy full of sparkle and grit 

Standard
The Girl at Midnight is a light YA fantasy full of sparkle and grit 

Whimsy and reality collide in this shiny little fantasy.  Think protagonist who only wants to be accepted and a quest that can make that wish come true.  It wasn’t perfect, but I found it to be a blissful escape. Publishing April 28, 2015.

  

Echo lives a life straddling the human world and the world of Avicen, a race of feathered, magical people. Born into one, tolerated by another, Echo has never really believed she has a true home. When an opportunity arises that could make Echo welcomed wholeheartedly into the Avicen world, she jumps at the chance. However, the quest she embarks on will require a sacrifice of unknown proportions and an alliance with a feared enemy, opening Echo up to the possibility of losing everything. This was an intriguing and engaging read that blended the strange beauty of fantasy with the wry humor of reality. Echo’s insecurities and the bluff bravado they create will feel familiar and real to readers. The narrative is shared by Caius, enemy of the Avicen, and a few minor characters. Voices are distinct and they are used to develop perspectives of Echo and Caius that add depth to their characters. My only complaint is with the quest itself. There are too few tests, and they seem too easily conquered by the protagonist. This robs the book of that feeling that a hero/heroine has truly gained something more than a clue or prize in the journey to the end. The tests do cost these characters, but only one seems to really effect Echo in a lasting way. I didn’t really get the comparison of this book to The Grisha books — I’m a big fan of those, and this one didn’t evoke that series for me. It gave a Daughter of Smoke and Bone vibe, but they really weren’t very similar when it comes down to plot (this one is clearer and more enjoyable). Four stars.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

