Fury is a strong addition to the Blur trilogy of YA supernatural thrillers.

Standard
Fury is a strong addition to the Blur trilogy of YA supernatural thrillers.

Despite the fact that the cover evokes The Hardy Boys books of old, this really is a supernatural suspense for the modern guy or gal.  It is the second in a series, and if you missed Blur, you should go check it out first. Think popular guy, strange visions of fiery girls, a shadowy government plot, and memories locked away in childood.  I actually enjoyed this more than the first book, and I look forward to where the final book will take this fresh, engaging trilogy.  

 
 Daniel’s life has gotten better since solving Emily’s murder, but when the blurs begin again, they are hitting a little closer to home, taking him to places connected with his family and his past.  There is an interesting new direction introduced in this book that promises to carry through to the next, and it builds a lot of momentum for the final book in the trilogy.  Readers will get more answers about Daniel’s ability and why it manifested, so that is quite satisfying as well.  Action is well paced throughout the story, and this book had plenty of puzzle pieces to sort through, so the suspense holds out pretty well.  Maybe too well.  I had a hard time with making the connections in this one, and the connection that Daniel can’t quite make between villains at the end left me unsatisfied as well.  I also found many of the characters slipping into clear but simple black and white columns instead of the more realistic gray place where most of us reside.  While this parallels with Daniel’s talisman story of the good and bad wolves, it makes it a little harder to see characters like Nicole or Ty as more than just pawns in the game.  Overall, I still really think that Daniel is a character that readers of both genders can enjoy.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.   

Blur is available in our classroom library

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Curse | Handheld Dream

Leave a Reply

