Sarah Dessen’s Saint Anything is one of her weaker YA Contemporary Romance Offerings

Standard
Sarah Dessen’s Saint Anything is one of her weaker YA Contemporary Romance Offerings

As much as I admire this author and what I feel it her work did for the YA genre, her books are hit or miss.  Saint Anything was a miss.  It is still a decent YA contemporary romance, but it just isn’t one you have to have right away.  Save your money and add yourself to the waiting list at your local library.  While you wait, you should definitely check out Just Listen or The Truth About Forever.

 Saint Anything is another lukewarm offering from Sarah Dessen.  Sydney’s older brother lands himself in jail following a drunk driving accident, the last in a long string of arrests and misdemeanors.  Syndney’s mom is distracted and hyper focused on his incarceration and her dad is a hard working side note, leaving Sydney alone and disconnected.  When she transfers schools and meets a family who owns a local pizza place, Sydney begins to connect with their messy, average lives.  Like The Truth About Forever, there is a stifling and strict mother figure who cannot deal when things aren’t going as planned.  An oracle-like maternal figure acting as wise mentor is a character that fans will recognize again, and the quirky friend character that takes a shine to the withdrawn protagonist will feel familiar as well.  This time, the person with the big personality is the love interest’s sister — sound familiar?  It is because we all met her in Just Listen. And like Anabelle, Sydney is not someone to speak up when things are troubling her, and her isolation and loneliness are the result of a sibling’s problems consuming a parent’s life.  There is even a loosely disorganized band with issues about musical direction and practice times trying to get a record deal a la This Lullaby.

While Saint Anything does have elements of my most favorite Dessen books, it fails to create main characters who stand out in a crowd.  Sydney is so generic that readers will forget about her almost as soon as they finish reading.  Her love interest in this book, is equally dull.  Beyond his health food kick and his interest in engineering, he is unremarkable, and Sydney’s slow gravitation towards him is so slight and inexplicable that it barely registers before they are suddenly in love.  The romance doesn’t even have the obligatory, seemingly insurmountable obstacle because Mr. Dull manages to stick by Sydney thanks to the modern miracle of texting.  As always, there is an element of redemption, acceptance, and forgiveness, but the trifecta doesn’t seem to impact the life of Sydney as much as it did other characters who got the treatment.

As much as I just beat down this book, most readers won’t have a problem with it.   Dessen does give readers the satisfactory ending that they expect.  She also keeps the insider jokes and references going.  Hate Spinnerbait.  This book is also about real people living a real life, something that has always resonated well with the YA crowd — it just lacks the epic but believable love that makes her best books feel exciting.  Dedicated fans will write this one off as another “meh” read and add the next one to their wish list.  Those picking up Dessen for the first time won’t know the difference, but it won’t inspire their reader following and the loyalty that her earlier books demanded.

This book is available in the MHS library.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

3 responses »

  1. Even though I really enjoyed this one, I do admit that some of the characters were more lackluster compared to her previous. I wasn’t really happy with Mac since he wasn’t a standout guy like Wes or Owen. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

