You never imagined Beauty and the Beast like this!  Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses is a fabulous remix for the grown up who still loves a good Fae tale.

Standard
You never imagined Beauty and the Beast like this!  Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses is a fabulous remix for the grown up who still loves a good Fae tale.

It is hard to get much mileage off of a reimagining of a fairy tale as well known as Beauty and the Beast. However, Sarah J. Maas successfully manages to engage readers and convince them that they might not know exactly how this version will end. Feyre isn’t Belle. She is gruff and rude and illiterate. The tasks set before her aren’t as easy as falling in love. She will battle more than her conflicted feelings — the tests she must pass are deadly and they may come at the price of her soul. The beast isn’t an enchanted man — he is a powerful fae fighting for the freedom of all he holds dear. This book takes readers to unexpected places and it is an enjoyable journey. The romance is a little more intense than Maas’ YA fare, but it is still appropriate for high school readers. The action is intense, and the mix of dark and light in this book will horrify and seduce in the very best of ways. The slightly damaged, strong female protagonist is all a reader could ask for, and when her strength and independence falter, it is only in the most human of ways. I will recommend this book highly to my readers, especially those who enjoyed Heir of Fire or those who are fans of fairy tale retellings. Of couse, it is already on my classroom library wish list since I would read the list of ingredients on a shampoo bottle if Maas wrote it.

  
Goodreads Summary

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Advertisements

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Court of Mist and Fury the second in Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses series | Handheld Dream

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s