Lion Heart is a five star conclusion to A.C. Gaughen’s Scarlet Trilogy

Standard
Lion Heart is a five star conclusion to A.C. Gaughen’s Scarlet Trilogy

If you haven’t read A.C. Gaugin’s Scarlet or Lady Thief, stop, turn around, and read those first.  This review will be somewhat of a spoiler for an excellent series that you don’t want ruined!  If you have read the first two books in this series, you may proceed.

Goodreads Summary

The eagerly-awaited conclusion to the Scarlet trilogy delivers another action-packed and romance-filled adventure.

Scarlet has captured the hearts of readers as well as the heart of Robin Hood, and after ceaseless obstacles and countless threats, readers will finally find out the fate of the Lady Thief.

Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet finds herself a long way from Nottinghamshire. After a daring escape from the Prince’s clutches, she learns that King Richard’s life is in jeopardy, and Eleanor of Aquitaine demands a service Scarlet can’t refuse: spy for her and help bring Richard home safe. But fate—and her heart—won’t allow her to stay away from Nottinghamshire for long, and together, Scarlet and Rob must stop Prince John from going through with his dark plans for England. They can not rest until he’s stopped, but will their love be enough to save them once and for all?

My Thoughts

This is one series that just got better with each book.  Lion Heart is a strong conclusion to the Scarlet Trilogy, and fans will not be disappointed about a single thing with the way things end, except the fact that their time with Robin and Scarlet is over.  Finding out that she has royal blood changed a lot of things for Scarlet, but it didn’t change her fiercely protective and stubbornly self-sacrificing nature.  Lion Heart isn’t a simple wrap up book — there are still plenty of challenges to overcome, battles to fight, and treasures to steal, um, I mean, guard.  All the scheming, combat, and trickery that readers have come to expect are present in this book, but the stakes are higher as Prince John’s end game threatens more than just the people of Nottingham.  Scarlet must use her new found power to undermine him as never before, but bigger stakes mean bigger rewards and bigger sacrifices.  Can she once again let the people she loves put themselves in the line of fire, especially now that she has seen how far Prince John is willing to go to punish those who get in his way?  The pacing is spot on, the romance is sweeter, and the characters have finally become the people they were meant to be.   I’m sure there are grumps who will find a million things flaws, but this was one book that gave me what I wanted, how I wanted it, and I couldn’t have asked for anything more.  Well, except for a follow up novella.  I can ask for that, right?

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

