Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan is one of the most anticipated reads of the summer, and with good reason.

Standard
Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan is one of the most anticipated reads of the summer, and with good reason.

Carrie Ryan is a writer who I depend on for pitch perfect prose, careful dialogue and complex characters who feel so conflicted and so real. When I began reading Daughter of Deep Silence, I instantly relaxed. I was once again in the hands of a professional. Until I couldn’t relax because that complex and conflicted character nearly made me lose my mind with every terrifying, deadly risk she took. I literally put the book down half way through and didn’t pick it up for a month. That isn’t me. I devour books in a day! I finish what I start! I did finally psych myself into continuing this read, and the distance that time gave me allowed me to finish without the aid of anxiety medication, but this book was intense. While this is nothing like When We Were Liars, the smart and twisty nature will appeal to fans of that book.

  

Goodreads Summary

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.

I’m the friend of a dead girl.

I’m the lover of my enemy.

And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose. 

My Thoughts

This is a revenge book.  A powerful man used a ship full of people in a terrible way and ruined a lot of lives, and Libby (Frances Mace’s adopted persona) is going to make him pay. Libby has basically become so hyper focused on the mission that she has become a shell of a person, a girl who never takes off the mask.  She has shoved down every scrap of humanity that was ever in her and plotted coldly, placing all the costs and rewards in neat rows.  Except she couldn’t factor in the way it would feel to kiss the boy she lost so long ago.  She couldn’t know that the girl she buried is still waiting for a fighting chance at freedom.  This is beautifully written and thoughtfully plotted.  Libby has an inner life that makes her feel as real as any person I’ve ever known. She also still feels like a teen, albeit a more sophisticated one than I was.  Clearly, I thought the ever present threat and danger inherent in taking revenge on powerful people was believable.  There are twists I didn’t see coming, and in the end I was pretty stunned by how it all went down.  I do have to say that after all of the buildup about what motivated the takedown of the Persephone, the answers were a little anticlimactic, but, hey, they made sense.  I would have liked to puzzle it out as a reader, though, and this answer had to be explained by a character who had info readers didn’t have access to.  I understood that the point of the book wasn’t really the mystery so much as the character’s journey, but, it felt a little like cheating when I got the answer handed to me in a few sentences.  I also wasn’t quite satisfied by the ending, but Ryan’s books always leave me feeling that way – they aren’t the endings I want, but they are the endings I think the characters probably would get in the real world, so I accept them. Overall, I think this is a book that will find a wider audience than The Forest of Hands and Teeth series.  Zombies scare people off, though they really shouldn’t, but this form of the living dead is a lot more approachable for most readers.  

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

