Every Last Word by Tamera Ireland Stone takes a look at OCD and the savage landscape of the American High School

Standard

If you’ve ever felt anxiety about playing the popularity game, you will have some understanding of this protagonist’s struggle.  Her anxiety is on a much larger scale as a result of Purely Obsessional OCD.  I have heard of OCD, but little has been said about this facet of the condition, probably because it is a little easier to hide than the OCD that manifests in more physical compulsions.  Regardless of her condition, it is pretty easy to understand the journey she is making to find her true place in the world, so I think this book will be one that plenty of readers can enjoy.  While I found it a little bit of a slow read, it is getting a lot of buzz.

  

Goodreads Summary

Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off. 

Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn’t help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she’d be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam’s weekly visits to her psychiatrist.

Caroline introduces Sam to Poet’s Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more “normal” than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear

My Thoughts

 First, you need to know that this book is very different from Tamara Ireland Stone’s other two books (contemporary YA with a time travel element – excellent reads).  Every Last Word is still a contemporary ya romance, but stylistically, it didn’t feel like the same writer to me.  Second, you need to know it is still worth reading.  These characters are dealing with relevant issues from the teen world — mental illness, growing apart from friends, insecurities, bullying, and popularity.  I will say that I was bored by parts — there was poetry, and I don’t deal well with poetry, true story.  Just as I was about to start scanning my way to the end, a plot twist renewed my interest and kept me engaged until the final page.  Sam is a character that many teen readers will understand.  Even though hers is on a large scale, the anxiety, conflicts, and obsessions will be familiar.  Her growth through the book is believably paced, and it will inspire empathy and hope.  The love interest in this book is a little bland (you know, like most real-life love interests who normal folk actually get to date and marry), but he does clearly develop a bond with Sam that rings true, and the relationship will be satisfying for most readers.  

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

