Queen of Someday and Queen of Tomorrow bring Catherine the Great’s life alive for YA readers looking for an entertaining mix of drama, romance and horror.

Standard
Queen of Someday and Queen of Tomorrow bring Catherine the Great’s life alive for YA readers looking for an entertaining mix of drama, romance and horror.

I have been fascinated by Catherine The Great since I saw a TV mini series about her when I was twelve (so innappropriate – I swear it is like I had no parents when it came to movies and books).  I remember being swept away by the thwarted romance of Catherine’s life, so chances are good that this series will appeal to teens because this is one queen who definitely had her share of grief (and lovers) on her way to the top.  The first two  Stolen Empire books read pretty closely to my memories of that TV series.  They focus on the dramatics – sex, love, cruelty and injustice.  They aren’t exactly historically accurate, but they do entertain.  They are not appropriate for young readers, but they won’t scar anyone who gets their hands on them either.  Well, no more than V.C. Andrews scarred little ole’ preteen me (Heaven might have scarred me, actually).

image

Queen of Someday begins with Princess Sophie dispatching the assassins who attack her and her mother as they journey to the Imperial court of Russia.  Sophie needs to catch the eye of the heir, Peter, and make a marriage that will save her country and her family.  She isn’t prepared for the political intrigue or the endless games of the court, but her sensible attitude and willingness to comply with orders makes her a very impressive match, at least in the eyes of the Empress.  Alas, her heart begins to war with her dedication to her family, and as Peter becomes increasingly strange, Sophie must choose between the future she longs for and the future that fate seems determined to give her.  This is a romanticized version of what I know about Sophie/Catherine’s early life.  Clearly, we all know how this is going to turn out, but there is something so engaging about the way things happen.  The characters and the setting are vividly drawn and the romance will leave YA readers a little breathless when the other, strangely twisted love story isn’t making you cringe.  I liked Sophie because she was one tough cookie, even when other people wanted to break her, she endures.  There is some annoying poetry, so, prepare yourself, but as far as reading for pleasure, this book will certainly keep readers entertained.

image

Queen of Tomorrow picks up where Queen of Someday left off, and the pressure to provide the Empress with a male heir for Russia has the newly married Catherine . . . well, you know what she has to do.  This book pretty much centers around that conflict.  Peter is still crazy, and the Empress is still manipulative and selfish.  Catherine is forced to walk a fine line and play diplomat as the intrigues and infidelities of the Russian court shift more often than the tide.  As every happiness Catherine manages to find is thwarted time and again, she loses sight of her purpose and power.  The question in this book is will it finally break her?  I enjoyed this book as much as the first, and I think other readers will as well.  Catherine’s biggest strength is her ability to gain the loyalty of people that other nobles have alienated or disregarded, but her darker thoughts definitely keep her from feeling too good to be true.  She has a depth and awareness that makes her more than just a girl in a pretty dress, but that sometimes makes her seem a little older than the age she is suppose to be portraying.  The book is well paced to take readers on a journey of highs and lows, and this one ends with a pretty intriguing resolution that will have fans ready for book three.  Because this book focuses on the making of an heir, it is probably most appropriate for high school readers, though scenes of sensuality are more hinted at than explicitly detailed.  These are books for YA readers who want drama, scandal, and romance, so if you are looking for a more historically accurate picture, this isn’t the book for you (the author, herself, is very upfront about that).

I received an ARC of Queen of Tomorrow from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

