Sarah Ganon’s Date With A Rockstar is a purely escapist YA read, and I enjoyed every far-fetched minute of it

Standard
Sarah Ganon’s Date With A Rockstar is a purely escapist YA read, and I enjoyed every far-fetched minute of it

I thoroughly enjoyed this guilty pleasure of a book. It combines a lot of things that I enjoy – a rock star love interest, an underdog protagonist, and a reality TV competition (I can’t watch them, but I love to read about them). Think The Selection minus the annoying love triangle and the reluctant participant, and you have the main idea of this book.

image

Goodreads Summary

A Dystopian future + a Bachelor-esque reality show = a sly yet heartfelt love story that will have you tearing through the pages to see how it all ends. –Heather Lyons, author of the Fate series

Monet isn t just another lust-struck teenager trying to win the heart of Rock God Jeremy Bane–she needs the prize money from his new reality show to cure her illness. Monet has Fluxem, a contagious disease that’s spread through saliva. It’s completely curable if you have enough money, which she and her single mother don’t. Now that she’s on the show, Monet has to work harder to keep her Fluxem hidden. She only has to keep the secret long enough to woo Jeremy Bane so he picks her as the winner. She doesn’t even care about the love part; the prize alone will change her life. But the real Jeremy Bane is nothing like she imagined. Monet finds herself fighting against feelings that make her want to give in to her attraction and Jeremy’s attempts for a kiss. The further she goes in the competition, the more impossible it becomes to resist him–and when the producers turn the tables and start digging up dirt on the contestants, Monet fears her secret will be revealed before she’s ready and ruin everything. The only way to win Jeremy’s heart is to tell him the truth, but confessing her disease could cost her the competition, the prize money, and him.

My Thoughts

Monet is a character I could get behind.  She doesn’t have money or material advantages that the other contestants have, but she is down to Earth and someone readers can cheer for.  Jeremy, the rockstar, is also someone readers will like.  He didn’t blow me away, and most of the things that are designed to make him attractive are examples of simple human decency, but he is a suitable, if generic, love interest.  The other contestants range from crazy to crazier, and I enjoyed the inevitable cattiness and drama.   The book takes place in a future that seems pretty bleak, which I didn’t really expect from the premise.  It added a subtle but thoughtful commentary on ecological, economic, and social issues.  The book moved quickly and had a satisfying conclusion.  It isn’t great literature, but it was fun to read.  I finished it in a few hours and it was one I read straight through.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

