Lee Bross’ Tangled Webs will take YA readers to the dark side of eighteenth century London with one savvy and determined protagonist

Standard
Lee Bross’ Tangled Webs will take YA readers to the dark side of eighteenth century London with one savvy and determined protagonist

It begins with a villainess, a lady in disguise who collects on the debts you owe, debts you gained when you did something you never want your family and friends to know about.  Pair that lure with this stunning cover, and I was sold.  While this wasn’t quite as good as I really wanted it to be, I still thought it was a solid four-star read.  If you can’t resist a bad girl who wants to go straight or a lady in hoop skirts who can probably kick your butt, this is certainly worth a look.

image

Arista is the notorious Lady A, the beautiful woman who hides in the shadows of the masquerade and trades in the secrets and lies of London’s elite.  No one sees the men behind her who hold her captive to a life she despises, but when circumstances offer her the opportunity of escape, Arista will have to decide who and what she is willing to risk for her own freedom.  But in a dangerous underworld where enemies masquerade as allies, finding happiness and out-running the past may be more impossible than even Arista suspects.   While the historical London setting will be new to many YA readers, the strong female protagonist will not.  Arista evokes many of the young women currently popular in YA fiction, and she doesn’t disappoint.   She is fiercely protective of the few people she has been allowed to love.  She has been trapped in a nightmarish situation where all of her choices have been dictated since early childhood.  She is forced to be the face of an enterprise where others benefit and she is a puppet.  Sound familiar?  It should.  Reading this book is like finding a new friend you feel an instant connection with, and it is precisely that connection that will keep readers taunt with tension as Arista gambles in her bid for freedom.  A romance, too, grows in the midst of this tangled web of deception, raising the stakes and readers hopes for Arista’s success.  Fans of Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series or Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy will particularly enjoy Tangled Webs.  While there is no fantasy element, the leading lady is reminiscent of both Celaena and Alina.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

