A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery is a contemporary YA romance with a pretty awful deception at its core

Standard
A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery is a contemporary YA romance with a pretty awful deception at its core

I have a hard time with deception in romance, so I should have known this would be a difficult book for me, but I can’t resist a man in uniform.  In this case, I really should have resisted because it ruined the entire book for me.  You, however, may be less squeamish and think this is wildly romantic.

 image

Goodreads Review

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.

When high school senior Kelsey’s identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn’t know about the tragedy is Michelle’s boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can’t bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can’t deny that she’s falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn’t want. 

My Thoughts

Kelsey’s ongoing lie is probably the biggest bone of contention readers will have with this book because it isn’t actually a bad read at all.  I just had such a tough time sticking it out because I disliked Kelsey so much.  I think it is hard to get past a narrator in a book who is unlikeable, and the author doesn’t do much to change reader’s opinions of her until nearly the end of the book.  Perhaps if she hadn’t come across as so shallow for the first third of the book, I would have been more sympathetic, but it is the transformation she goes through that adds depth to her character, so she has to be shallow at the beginning.  I won’t bother to analyze the other elements of the book in this review because they are only relevant if you can tolerate the narrator.  Basically, if you can handle lies in a romantic relationship long enough to get the whole story, you will be able to enjoy this book.  If you have a hang up, as I do, about a relationship that develops around a major deception, you are probably going to dump this book after the first 25%.
I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s