Scott Sigler’s Alive is an intriguing puzzle of a SciFi book that you will have trouble putting down

Standard
Scott Sigler’s Alive is an intriguing puzzle of a SciFi book that you will have trouble putting down

I really hope that no one will spoil Alive for you because it was quite fun to unravel.  This book will have a really wide appeal, and I think it will be a big deal in the YA book world, meaning someone will probably make a dubious movie version of it, so get to reading while the reading is still good.

image

Goodreads Summary

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth. 

My Thoughts

In order not to spoil the journey, I won’t say much beyond the fact that this is an engaging and compelling YA SciFi read.  It touches the heart of what it means to be a leader, to be a moral human, and to fight for what matters when it would be easier to give up.  The pacing is well designed to support both the action and the suspense — at the point where I was beginning to get frustrated with the mystery, answers began to be given in a way that sustained suspense but eased my doubts.  While there were many characters to keep up with, it wasn’t hard to distinguish between them.  The narrative voice was one that added to the mystery but didn’t add unnecessary confusion.  Both the dialogue and prose were rather short and halting at the beginning, but there was a purpose behind that choice, so don’t judge the whole book by the sample, as it will be a bit misleading.  I enjoyed the twists, turns, and discoveries in this book, and I think you will as well. This is a book that will be enjoyed by many genders, creeds, and age groups.  Fans of everything from classics like Lord of the Flies to more modern works like The Maze Runner will find something to enjoy in Alive.  While there is violence in this book, it is thoughtful and well considered to play into the themes.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

