Emily Wibberly’s Forsworn – fewer human sacrifices, more cannibals, and one uncertain Oracle

Standard
Emily Wibberly’s Forsworn – fewer human sacrifices, more cannibals, and one uncertain Oracle

Emily Wibberly’s Sacrificed was one of the most memorable books I have reviewed.  It had action and romance and human sacrifice, oracles, and cannables.  That combo is hard to forget.  If you haven’t read Sacrificed, stop and go read it first.  Forsworn will make little sense without it.  If you have read Sacrificed, you have been hanging on the edge, waiting for the reunion that you just know has to take place in the sequel.  It does, but it might not be the heartfelt reunion you are envisioning – leave it to the guy to throw a major wrench in your plans, Ladies!

Fierce!

Fierce!

Goodreads Summary

Clio can see the future, but what she doesn’t know about her past could destroy her.

It’s been a year since Clio made her sacrifice to the Deities and embraced her destiny as the Oracle to save her people.

The only family she has left is a brother who wants her dead.

The prince, her oldest friend, is a king with his own agenda.

And the man who once loved her, now hates her.

All she can do is try to forget about Riece, the enemy commander whose heart she broke to save his life, as she serves the Deities. Her days are filled with Visions and bloodshed in a never-ending war against the Untouched. To add to her problems, she must pose as King Derik’s mistress to conceal her forbidden powers from the Emperor’s spies.

When Riece unexpectedly returns to Sheehan with a new and beautiful ally, Clio knows she must put him out of her mind once and for all, but first, they are thrust together into battle against a mysterious Untouched warrior with otherworldly power. To reclaim her city, she must team up with the man she hurt, the man she still loves but can never be with, and finally confront the questions about her origin—questions with answers that Clio may not be prepared to face.

My Thoughts

Honestly, Sacrificed left me a little deflated and a lot expectant, so I was happy to finally get my hands on the sequel. I was a little surprised by Clio who seems battle hardened and calculating when this book opens. She isn’t the girl who ran from her fate in the first book, and that seems to be one of the major internal and external conflicts in the book. I have to say she was a little harder to like initially, but eventually I found myself understanding her motivations more clearly and giving her a little more leeway.  She is still a strong female protagonist, and she still knows how to handle weapons, but she also knows that her sacrifice to the deities has shaped, and perhaps warped her in ways she isn’t sure she is proud of.  I think it is this self-awareness that really keeps her from becoming the woman she always despised – her mom.   Riece, too, wasn’t the dashing hero we left behind. His return (thank goodness it wasn’t too long coming) is clouded by a new piece of arm candy. Typical boy. He is still drool-worthy, and it is clear that he still has feelings for Clio, but we all know what guys resort to when they feel like they have been discarded – Jealousy.  I will warn you that his princess is a little more than meets the eye, so don’t fall for the soft, dumb, wrapped-in-furs thing she has got going – this girl is pretty strong in ways Clio can’t ever imagine being.  

Clio and Riece are still so drawn to each other, but they are both fighting to protect their hearts in this go around. This makes for a little more drama and angst than I like, but it is kind of expected, and I’m glad the author gave them the time and space to believably come to terms with their (former?future?) relationship. I think most readers are snapping this book up for the romance, but there are actually a lot of answers about Clio’s family and the origins of the oracles in this book. A lot of questions I had at the end of Sacrificed were answered in detailed and satisfactory ways, and as do any good details, these change the game that Clio thought she was playing.  This is important because it keeps the momentum going in the series and prevents the story from becoming too dependant on Clio and Riece’s relationship. 

I have to say that this book didn’t sweep me away quite as much as Sacrificed did, it felt politics heavy to me and I’m not sure if that is even fair to say – it is just how I saw the majority of the maneuvering in this one. There is still plenty of action (and kissing), and new allies and old enemies turned and twisted the plot in good ways that I didn’t see coming. It makes me really anxious to see where the next book is going to take me!

I received a copy of this book (Thank you, Colette!) in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

