Daughter of Dusk by Livia Blackburne concludes her Midnight Thief series

Standard
Daughter of Dusk by Livia Blackburne concludes her Midnight Thief series

When I read Midnight Thief, the first book in this pair, I wasn’t terribly impressed.  When I reread it before attempting the sequel, I enjoyed it a little more.  You definitely need to read these books in order, but if you have already read and enjoyed Midnight Thief, I think you will enjoy Daughter of Dusk.  I think this is a book that younger YA readers will enjoy more than older ones.

Goodreads Summary

After learning the truth about her bloodlines, Kyra can’t help but feel like a monster.

Though she’s formed a tentative alliance with the Palace, Kyra must keep her identity a secret or risk being hunted like the rest of her Demon Rider kin. Tristam and the imprisoned assassin James are among the few who know about her heritage, but when Tristam reveals a heartbreaking secret of his own, Kyra’s not sure she can trust him. And with James’s fate in the hands of the palace, Kyra fears that he will give her away to save himself.
As tensions rise within Forge’s Council, and vicious Demon Rider attacks continue in surrounding villages, Kyra knows she must do something to save her city. But she walks a dangerous line between opposing armies: will she be able to use her link to the Demon Riders for good, or will her Makvani blood prove to be deadly?
In this spellbinding sequel to Midnight Thief, Kyra and Tristam face their biggest battle yet as they grapple with changing allegiances, shocking deceit, and vengeful opponents. 
My Thoughts

While Kyra’s conflicts are the same as before (her heritage, the inequality among the classes, her past with James and the assassin’s guild), the issues have shifted slightly after the events in the first book and still hold enough interest to move the story arc and character development forward.  While many readers will be excited to know that the romance that started with Tristam’s rescue of Kyra in the first book continues to develop in the second, they should be prepared for a sweet rather than passionate love story.  I was surprised to learn that this is the last book featuring these characters, but it did mean that the resolution at the end was an actual resolution of the conflicts.  While the book is technically everything it should be, it didn’t resonate with me.  I did enjoy the fact that Kyra grew to better understand James and his perspective on the way the world works, but she doesn’t ever really learn to control the impulsive actions that initiate most of her personal battles.  Tristam, too, had the potential to be a new book crush, but he just seemed to be going through the motions.  While I equate the characters and plot with the word “lukewarm,” I do think that the actual target audience will be more impressed, particularly those on the younger end of the scale. 

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

