Huntley Fitzpatrick’s The Boy Most Likely To is a compelling companion read to My Life Next Door

Standard
Huntley Fitzpatrick’s The Boy Most Likely To is a compelling companion read to My Life Next Door

Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next a Door is one of the most read and requested books in my classroom library, and it is one I frequently recommend to my fans of contemporary YA romance.  I didn’t realize that The Boy Most Likely To was a companion book, and I was so excited when I finally made the connection.  This book wasn’t quite what I expected, but I really enjoyed it anyway, and I think Huntley Fitzpatrick fans will be much happier with this read than with her last book.

image

Goodreads Summary

Surprises abound and sparks ignite in the highly anticipated, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To:
– find the liquor cabinet blindfolded

– need a liver transplant

– drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To:
– well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.
Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.
And Alice is caught in the middle.
Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this return to the world of My Life Next Door is a story about failing first, trying again, and having to decide whether to risk it all once more.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed My Life Next Door because of the sweet love story.  I was excited about reading The Boy Most Likely To because I thought it would follow in that same vein.  Uh, no.  This book is the antithesis of sweet love story – it actually felt like a New Adult novel rather than a YA novel because the main focus for the two main characters is their sexual attraction to each other.  For me, this book is really mostly defined by the sexual tension that exudes from almost every interaction the two characters have.  I still enjoyed it, and I liked the book as a whole, but it certainly wasn’t what I was expecting.  The two characters played small but memorable roles in the first book, and it was engaging to see their personalities clash.  Tim is hopelessly overwhelmed by expectations, and his rebellion has taken him to a very difficult place.  His story dominated my interest, and watching him struggle to become a man he can be proud of is heartbreaking and sometimes inspiring.  I was less interested in Alice as a character.  I felt like she had a lot to lose, and even though I understand that love can be unpredictable, it doesn’t have to make you blind and stupid.  I wanted them to end up together, but I honestly felt like Alice was making a bad decision to see where her heart would lead her.  There is a lot going on in the background that ties this book to the first one, so you need to read them in order, but there were also enough plot points independent of the first book to keep the story fresh.  I read it straight through the minute I got my hands on it, so I certainly found it compelling.  I think my high school readers will enjoy the book, and even though it feels a lot more grown up than MLND, I believe it is appropriate for high school readers.  I’m definitely adding it to my classroom library wish list.

I received an ARC through the Penguin First to Read program in exchange for an honest review.

You can join this program at firsttoread.com

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

