E. Latimer’s Frost has the concept but falls short on craft

Standard
E. Latimer’s Frost has the concept but falls short on craft

I read a lot of indie authors, and I have a lot of respect for anyone who can write a whole book.  Sometimes, though, they need the polish and grooming that a big publishing house can provide, and that is the case with Frost.  It was a serial work written on Wattpad, and it has a cool concept but just not the focused editing and attention to craft that would make it worth your time.

image

Goodreads Summary

Megan Walker’s touch has turned to ice. She can’t stop the frost, and the consequences of her first kiss are horrifying.

When her new powers attract attention, Megan finds herself caught up in an ancient war between Norse giants. One side fuelled by a mad queen’s obsession and an ancient prophecy about Ragnarök, the other by an age-old grudge. Both sides believe Megan to be something she’s not. Both sides will stop at nothing to have her.
Fire or frost. It’s an impossible decision, but she’ll have to act soon, because the storm is coming.
My Thoughts

I liked the idea of this book, and I even liked some of the execution – Megan’s genetic memories were a nice touch, and I’ll take a woman warrior any day.  The problem for me was really with the lack of craft.  Frost was an okay read, but it is uneven. The beginning of the book feels awkwardly paced and often rushed.   The characters actions are accelerated to get to the answers behind the mystery of their similarities, which results in half baked scenes and flat secondary characters.  I think it would have been better if more time was spent building up to the answers.  The second half of the book feels a lot stronger because the pace slows down and situations are given more time to develop. But even here the scenes are still vague.   I couldn’t picture the palace in my mind, and I felt like a lot of time was spent on wardrobe but too little time was spent developing characters and setting.  I still felt that almost all of the secondary characters are flat, and they really need some depth to make me care about them.  I didn’t really feel any sparks between any of the possible romantic interests, so that was disappointing, and I was surprised that Megan chose to cuddle up to the guy she did at the end because I hadn’t really felt the attraction.  Honestly, it still feels like a draft in terms of development and pacing.  I would love to see what a strong editor could do with this work because there is a unique and engaging idea here, but it just isn’t ready.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

