Jennifer E. Smith’s Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between proves that breaking up is hard to do

Standard
Jennifer E. Smith’s Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between proves that breaking up is hard to do

I really enjoyed The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, and Jennifer E. Smith is popular with my high school readers, so I was pretty excited to preview this title, but I felt a little trepidation about the topic. It’s a break-up book, or is it? Either way, it looked primed for teen drama, which I’m not always up for. Fortunately, this is well written, and it was less painful than I thought it would be. I think it is a pretty good bet for readers who enjoy contemporary YA romance. I gave it four stars.  This book is publishing September 1, 2015.

image

Goodreads Summary

On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they’ll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

This new must-read novel from Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, explores the difficult choices that must be made when life and love lead in different directions.

My Thoughts

The entire story takes place in the twelve hours before Claire and Aidan have to say goodbye and head to their respective colleges. The question is do we stay together, or do we end this amicably tonight. A lot can happen in twelve hours, and as they celebrate the good memories and argue about the future, a few unexpected surprises and mishaps alter their perspective of one another and their relationship again and again. I liked almost every character in this book, and I particularly enjoyed how Aidan and Claire are opposites but still so perfect for one another. The decision that they have to make is one that many readers will be familiar with, and the ugly scenes are just as present and important as the happy ones. While I didn’t get the resolution I kept hoping for, I was satisfied by the ending, and I think most readers will be as well. While my overall feelings about this book are positive, I do remember thinking a few times that both Aidan and Claire needed to call it a night because the conversation was getting old. There is a lot of talking, and though it is probably balanced pretty fairly with action, it is all the talking that I remember the most. I think high school seniors or new college students will find this the most engaging, but it is appropriate for grades 9+.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

