Edgewater is a twisty read, reminiscent of Grey Gardens full of money, eccentrics, and scandal

Standard
Edgewater is a twisty read, reminiscent of Grey Gardens full of money, eccentrics, and scandal

I have an affection for crazy folks of all kinds.  I find rich crazy very intriguing – Miss Havisham from Great Expectations with her rotting wedding cake and decomposing mansion was a real fascination for me.  The first time I saw HBO’s Grey Gardens with Jackie O’s delightfully bizarre family, I was in hog heaven.  I picked up Edgewater because it sounded like a combination of the two, and it is.  It is also full of scandal and secrets.

image

Goodreads Summary

Lorrie Hollander used to be a rich girl, but now she’s lost everything because of the secrets and lies of the people around her. It’s been 12 years since Lorrie’s mother skipped town and left Lorrie in the care of her unstable aunt Gigi. Together they live in a neglected, decrepit mansion called Edgewater, the eyesore in a town of extraordinary wealth and privilege.

When Charlie, the son of an esteemed senator, takes an interest in Lorrie, her shame for her family and lifestyle runs deep. But what she doesn’t know is that Charlie’s family is hiding something, too, and that their secrets are inextricably tied. Now Lorrie must confront the truth about her family—and everything she ever thought she knew about herself.

 

My Thoughts

I picked this book up because the description sounded like this was set in a mix of Grey Gardens and Mrs. Havisham’s house, and I wasn’t far off the mark.  This looming disaster of a house and its strange inhabitants are a large part of the conflict for Lorrie, the protagonist.  They are also representative of her internal conflict which is fueled by the disorder created by a snarled web of secrets that she has to untangle before she can move forward.  I really liked Lorrie because even though she lives in a world that most readers don’t experience and view as glamorous, she has problems that most readers can relate to.  I thought that it was populated by characters who started out as rather enigmatic but came into focus as their perspectives found their way into the book.  I liked the mystery, even if I puzzled most of it out early on.  There were still a few surprise twists that I wasn’t sure of until the end.  I was pretty satisfied by Lorrie’s growth as a character and the resolution to the overall plot.  I was a little sqeamish about the romantic resolution, and I think other readers will be as well. I’m pretty sure you are going to want to talk about it because I know it was something I was dying to discuss.  I still enjoyed the read, and I think you probably will as well.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

