Stupid Love by Cindy Miles is a New Adult romance that actually qualifies as romantic.

Standard
Stupid Love by Cindy Miles is a New Adult romance that actually qualifies as romantic.

I just found you a new book boyfriend!  I adored this New Adult romance, and it is certainly one of the best I’ve read in a long time.  I usually don’t review a lot of the NA romances I read on this blog because they can be a little too graphic and a little too immoral to hand to my high school readers, but this book is pretty responsible in its messages.  It was a five star read for the NA genre in my opinion, and fans of books like Beautiful Disaster, Going Too Far, and Because of Low will enjoy this contemporary romance.

image

Goodreads Summary

Bestselling new adult author Cindy Miles is set to capture the hearts of STUPID GIRL fans again with the grand finale of the Stupid in Love series, featuring Memory and Jace.

MEMORY
Casualties.

That’s how I refer to the guys who’ve had the bad fortune to fall for me. They only see long legs that they wish were wrapped around them, a cat-like smile, and the reckless abandon to take on any wild dare. It’s all a game to me. Show me a bridge, and I’ll leap over the side. Give me a car, and I’ll race it. Give me a heart, and I’ll break it. I always win. I even showed Death who was boss a long time ago.
Or so I thought.

Now, time is running out, and I’m losing fast…and big. I met someone. Jace Beaumont. He’s smart, and good, and I dream about spending days exploring the summit of his perfect lips. But, I’m a grenade. I know I should leave him be. I can’t.

JACE

Study, class, work, repeat. That’s all I have time for. At twenty-five years old, I have a bit more mileage on me than the average college freshman. But, that’s what happens when you spend your youth drinking, partying, and bagging girls like it’s a full-time job. Now, I have goals. There’s just one kink in my plans. Her name is Memory. She’s every guy’s dream girl. She’s intoxicating. She’s trouble. I want to stay away. I can’t.

My Thoughts

Memory is a big ole Cajun bombshell, and she knows it.  I liked everything about her from her relationship with her dad to her daredevil stunts.  She is an agressive girl with a heart of gold and a big secret, and it think she will quickly have readers wanting to be in her shoes.  Jace is a stellar romantic interest in my mind because he isn’t the typical college guy in NA romances – he is an older student and he has passed his partying days.  He is cautious about just becoming another game for Memory, and I liked the switch because usually things are the other way around in these books.  And, boy, could he be romantic. I would have wrapped my arms around his legs and never let go if he’d taken me on any of those dates he orchestrated.  I also liked the relationships that each of these characters had with their families and friends.  The story was paced to develop a meaningful relationship that I though felt genuinely romantic and sincere.  The scenes of sensuality were tasteful and conveyed my idea of appropriate feelings and timing.  This one didn’t blaze hot and nasty, which I think is a real bonus, but it might disappoint fans of the raunchier NA that passes for romance these days.  Likewise, this book didn’t feel the need to give readers over the top drama (thank you), and I thought it was nice to see a book where folks could go to college, have a good time, and not have to go all cat fight and mean to the other girls on campus.  There were some problems with the writing.  There were some awkwardly phrased sentences and a few times when I felt like the sentence structure was a little too wordy.  There was a completely unnecessary jounal entry thing going on at the beginning, middle, and end of the book.  I have no idea what purpose they served, and I thought they could have easily been edited out without a hitch.  Those things really didn’t bother me, though.  This is a book that truly encompasses my idea of a love story, and I’ll admit I might have cried near the end (but we are over if you ever tell anyone).  While the ladies in the book do have some pretty salty language and there is some sensuality, this is a book I would still consider appropriate for mature high school and beyond.  I wouldn’t flinch at handing it to my high school readers because it does seem to really make the intimacy an extension of the true feelings.

This is the third in a series, and it read just fine as a stand alone, but I have to admit I’m definitely going to check out the first two books now that I’ve seen what this author is about.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

