The Anatomy of Curiosity – a short story collection with author commentary sure to inspire your own writing

Standard
The Anatomy of Curiosity – a short story collection with author commentary sure to inspire your own writing

I read so many books that I don’t make a lot of time for my own writing.  The Anatomy of Curiosity is one of the few books that actually inspired me put down the e-reader and pick up the pen.  I think that says a lot about what this book can offer aspiring writers and dreamers.  All of the stories stuck with me, but the lessons I learned about writing have stuck a little more – don’t expect to see any of my fiction any time soon, but it felt good to just get something on paper again.  If you are looking for a little push yourself, I think this book should definitely find its way onto your bookshelf.

image

Goodreads Summary

The follow-up to the acclaimed title The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories by Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff.

In an unassuming corner of Brooklyn, a young woman learns to be ladylike, to love context, and to speak her mind from a very curious sort of tutor.

In a faraway land convulsed by war, a young soldier hears the desert’s curious hum as he disarms bombs with the person he doesn’t know how to love.

In a place so shriveled by drought that any drowning is a curiosity, a young writer tries again and again to tread water beneath the surface of a vast and unusual sea.

Three new stories—complete with commentary on the creative process—from three acclaimed young adult authors working at the height of their powers.

Curious?

My Thoughts

I’m not a big fan of short story collections, but I am a huge fan of Maggie Stiefvater, so I requested The Anatomy of Curiosity on the strength of her name alone.  I am so glad I did.  This turned out to be a pretty fascinating look into the mind and process of an author I have always held in awe. Her advice on how to craft your work around character was so inspiring that I wanted to start writing immediately (and I did).  This book also introduced me to two authors I haven’t had much experience with before.  While I found their stories compelling and beautiful, and I will definitely seek out more of their work, I did get less from their process commentary than from Stiefvater’s.  That might just be because of my own personal writing style, though, and I think others may find their processes very insightful.  The three stories alone are worth the price of the book, but I think this is truly a gem because of how it can help aspiring writers feel out their own writing, something that they stress can be very messy and personalized.  I think it would be an excellent “textbook” for student creative writers.  If you know a writer, either a teen or someone who enjoys YA fiction, this is definitely a book they will enjoy.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

