R.C. Lewis’s Spinning Starlight – where science fiction meets fairy tale in such an unexpected way!

Standard
R.C. Lewis’s Spinning Starlight – where science fiction meets fairy tale in such an unexpected way!

This companion novel to Stitching Snow is a pretty impressive combination of science fiction and fairy tale.  I enjoy this author’s work, and I think if you give her a shot, you will as well.  Stars and science, and something alien – it was a five star read for me.

image

Goodreads Summary

Sixteen-year-old heiress and paparazzi darling Liddi Jantzen hates the spotlight. But as the only daughter in the most powerful tech family in the galaxy, it’s hard to escape it. So when a group of men show up at her house uninvited, she assumes it’s just the usual media-grubs. That is, until shots are fired.

Liddi escapes, only to be pulled into an interplanetary conspiracy more complex than she ever could have imagined. Her older brothers have been caught as well, trapped in the conduits between the planets. And when their captor implants a device in Liddi’s vocal cords to monitor her speech, their lives are in her hands: One word and her brothers are dead.

Desperate to save her family from a desolate future, Liddi travels to another world, where she meets the one person who might have the skills to help her bring her eight brothers home-a handsome dignitary named Tiav. But without her voice, Liddi must use every bit of her strength and wit to convince Tiav that her mission is true. With the tenuous balance of the planets deeply intertwined with her brothers’ survival, just how much is Liddi willing to sacrifice to bring them back?

Haunting and mesmerizing, this retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Wild Swans strings the heart of the classic with a stunning, imaginative world as a star-crossed family fights for survival in this companion to Stitching Snow.

My Thoughts

I honestly just can’t get enough of this author.  Her fairy tales are science fiction set in universes that are alien but universal in their conflicts.  Her female protagonists are tougher than they know, and they are always engineering savvy.  I honestly can’t say I’ve read anything exactly like them, but I do know they are the books I want to hand out by the armfull to every girl I meet!  Spinning Starlight is the second book by this author, and I didn’t think it was possible, but I might have enjoyed it more than Stitching Snow, which was one of my top picks last year.  This book is a standalone reimagining of The Wild Swans, which I haven’t read.  I think part of my enjoyment came from the fact that I didn’t know what to expect, so I’ll keep it basic.  Liddi doesn’t feel like she lives up to the family name, but when her seven older brothers are trapped in a dangerous situation by a trusted family employee, Liddi is the only one who can save them.  Voiceless and uncertain, Liddi must go on a journey that will take her to unimagined places and force her to see how much she really can trust her own instincts.  This  book is smart and strange, and I couldn’t put it down.  There is romance and there is adventure.  There are aliens and there are enemies.  I do have to say Spinning Starlight was a little more hardcore science fiction than Stitching Snow because it incorporated alien beings, weird names, and unusual customs, but the author eases readers in to it, so it shouldn’t be a deterrent.  I think my high school students will enjoy it as much as I did, and  I added it to my classroom library wishlist long ago.  I think readers who enjoyed Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress will enjoy this book as well, and of course, fans of Stitching Snow will find it engaging.  Language and situations are appropriate for grades 7+, but interest level is high school and beyond.
I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

