In Real Life by Jessica Love is the perfect book for the Comfort Zone Square in you.

Standard
In Real Life by Jessica Love is the perfect book for the Comfort Zone Square in you.

I finished this love story in just a few hours, and it made me happy.  Hannah is a rule follower, and a bit of a comfort zone square, and I completely related to her.  I loved the fact that she gets the nerve to finally break a few rules and learns that the results aren’t always what she expects but you have to learn to embrace new things if you want to grow.  Great message wrapped in reality.

image

 Goodreads Summary

Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since 8th grade. They talk for hours on the phone, regularly shower each other with presents, and know everything there is to know about one another.

There’s just one problem: Hannah and Nick have never actually met.

Hannah has spent her entire life doing what she’s supposed to, but when her senior year spring break plans get ruined by a rule-breaker, she decides to break a rule or two herself. She impulsively decides to road trip to Las Vegas, her older sister and BFF in tow, to surprise Nick and finally declare her more-than-friend feelings for him.

Hannah’s surprise romantic gesture backfires when she gets to Vegas and finds out that Nick has been keeping some major secrets. Hannah knows the real Nick can’t be that different from the online Nick she knows and loves, but now she only has night in Sin City to figure out what her feelings for Nick really are, all while discovering how life can change when you break the rules every now and then.

 My Thoughts

I have always enjoyed books that throw wrenches into the best laid plans (or last minute plans that sound awesome), so I liked the funny missteps and quirky moments in this story.  Most of the book focuses on an inability to express feelings and the uncertainty of sharing feelings you can’t be sure are returned.  I think we’ve all been there, done that, so I don’t think it is hard for anyone to find some empathy for the situation.  I did think the book moved quickly, but there weren’t really any moments where I thought the pace was detrimental to the development of relationships.  Most of the hard work in falling in love happened before the story really begins, so I don’t think anyone else will feel that way either.  Overall, this was a cute and funny story that I think YA readers of contemporary romance will enjoy.  This is a book I would easily suggest to some of my reluctant readers because it is engaging, easy to read, and fast paced.  I am adding it to my high school classroom library, and I think it is appropriate for high school readers.  There is some drinking and some kissing, but for the most part, I don’t think it will corrupt the youth of today.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

