Kurt Dinan’s Don’t Get Caught is an awesome mix of The Breakfast Club and Ocean’s Eleven

Standard
Kurt Dinan’s Don’t Get Caught is an awesome mix of The Breakfast Club and Ocean’s Eleven

This is an awesome read. It isn’t often I think a book can live up to a blurb like “Ocean’s Eleven meets The Breakfast Club,” but Don’t Get Caught really, really did!  I adore a good con story, and this one has all the twists and turns I expected, and a few I didn’t.  I gave it five stars, and I can’t wait for you to discover the fun that is Don’t Get Caught.

image

Goodreads Summary

10:00 tonight at the water tower. Tell no one. -Chaos Club

When Max receives a mysterious invite from the untraceable, epic prank-pulling Chaos Club, he has to ask: why him? After all, he’s Mr. 2.5 GPA, Mr. No Social Life. He’s Just Max. And his favorite heist movies have taught him this situation calls for Rule #4: Be suspicious. But it’s also his one shot to leave Just Max in the dust…

Yeah, not so much. Max and four fellow students-who also received invites-are standing on the newly defaced water tower when campus security “catches” them. Definitely a setup. And this time, Max has had enough. It’s time for Rule #7: Always get payback.

Let the prank war begin.

My Thoughts

Max is a narrative voice that will draw in guys and gals, YA’s and adults.  He has the same impulses as anyone when he feels pushed, but he also has a thoughtful conscience that makes me proud to introduce him to my high school readers.  There is a bit of romance, but it is light enough not to bore those who don’t want serious love interfering in their heist stories.  There is a nice blend of action and character development, and the plot is paced to keep readers glued to the pages.  I finished it in a few hours because I was enjoying myself so much that I just couldn’t put it down.  I was most impressed with the heart in this book.  Themes of friendship, justice, integrity, and grit add a nice bit of depth, but most readers will be so engaged they won’t know they are getting the broccoli with their dessert until it’s too late.  I really can’t wait to share this book with my students, particularly to those who enjoyed Con Academy and Losers Take All. Language and situations are appropriate for high school readers, but I think adult readers of YA will find it just as compelling.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

One response »

Leave a Reply

