Flawed by Cecelia Ahern – Can You Dictate Morality?

Standard
Flawed by Cecelia Ahern – Can You Dictate Morality?

While the YA dystopian seems to have just about run itself dry, I just can’t seem to let the genre go.  Flawed looked so enticing that I couldn’t resist, and hard core dystopian fans probably won’t be able to either.  However, this book did eventually end up on my “meh” list.

image

Goodreads Summary

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule. And now faces life-changing repercussions.

She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where obedience is paramount and rebellion is punished. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her-everything.

My Thoughts

I wasn’t immediately engaged by Flawed, but once I reached a certain point, I didn’t want to put it down.  However I’ve reached the conclusion that my engagement didn’t really equal a satisfactory read because what I had been reading for never really materialized.  In the end, I’d have to say this book was okay, but it isn’t going to the top of my recommendations list.  I did liked the fact that the premise is centered around a society that mandates morality, because that is increasingly a risk based on the politics of today – I was expecting a gentler version of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, and to some degree, that is what I got.  I think that devotees to Dystopian YA will probably be interested in the book.  I also think that in a world full of YA distopian reads, this book lacks the real spark to make it worth most readers’ time.  The majority of the book is exposition and the real climax occurs way too late in the game.  It only took a few chapters to identify how the morality system in Celestine’s world is corrupt, but the bulk of the book is spent reiterating that point.  I kept waiting for the pivotal moment that would send Celestine into action, and I never really got that.  To be fair, this is suppose to be the journey of a girl who starts out buying wholeheartedly what the government is selling, or at least believing it isn’t her job to question the system.  The problem is that her journey is mostly her nattering around and worrying about an AWOL boyfriend that should have exited stage left long before the climax.  The “hot” guy that I kept waiting to get the ball rolling is equally AWOL.  I don’t think every YA needs a romance, but this book set one up and the just left it sitting until it grew cold.  I feel like the author is setting up a big rebellion and a love triangle in the next book, but that doesn’t help this book be any more exciting.  And there will be a next book because there is somewhat of an abrupt stop at the end, and next to no resolution in the final pages.  That is irritating to many readers, so it is worth mentioning.  Overall, I think the book is eclipsed by so many other works in this genre, and it is hard to not expect certain things from a disenchanted heroine.  Most readers will be disappointed.  Language and situations are appropriate for grades 8+.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

