Every Heart a Doorway is a dark and whimsical read that cements Seanan McGuire as a superstar in my mind

Standard
Every Heart a Doorway is a dark and whimsical read that cements Seanan McGuire as a superstar in my mind

I adored this deliciously dark and whimsical novella, so much so that I became distraught when I finally realized it was a novella.  I had not paced myself to slowly savor this story and I finished in about an hour.  I could have spent a few years in this strange and enchanted land.

image

Goodreads Summary

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

My Thoughts

The concept quickly had me in its thrall – children who fell through portals much as Alice fell through a rabbit hole have been returned to the real world of mothers and bedtimes and suburban rites.  It isn’t hard to see why most of them cling to the belief that their portal will open again to Candyland or SparklePonyRainbowLand.  It is a little harder to accept that some of them are longing for darker places.  That is the case for the protagonist, who’s experience in the underworld has left her longing for shadowy, still places.  I liked her from the start, and while I couldn’t quite buy into her delusion that Lord Death was waiting to bring her “home,” it wasn’t hard to feel empathy for her longing.  She is framed as an outsider among outsiders, and that is very appealing to anyone who has ever felt like a fish out of water.

The plot centers around a mystery as strange and gory as any I’ve encountered, but it is tempered by the whimsy of the characters.  I didn’t feel a lot of urgency to uncover the perpetrator, because I was having a bit of fun guessing the motive instead.  I wasn’t fully satisfied with the resolution of the mystery because it just didn’t seem to be as elaborate as I thought it would be, but there is merit to the Keep It Simple, Stupid (KISS) line of reasoning, so, my bad.

I particularly enjoyed the fact that the characters are on the cusp between childhood and adulthood.  It made for a nice metaphor about longing for those days all of us at some point realized we would never see again.  I didn’t feel like this was a theme the author pushed, but I certainly delighted in the connection.

Overall, I thought this was a fun and enjoyable read.  This author is a bit hit or miss for me, but Sparrow Hill Road and this little gem remind me how very awesome it is when this writer gets it very, very right.  Fans of Tim Burton’s dark whimsy as well as readers who like their dark and light balanced on a knife’s edge will enjoy this novella.  While the characters are young adults, this is a book written for adults.  I think YA’s could enjoy it, but some of the language makes it more appropriate for mature readers.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

