A World of Ash – Justin Woolley’s zombies, crazed nuns, and valiant underdog do it all over again

Standard
A World of Ash – Justin Woolley’s zombies, crazed nuns, and valiant underdog do it all over again

If you’ve read the first two books in Justin Woolley’s The Territory series, you won’t want to miss A World of Ash.  The final book in the trilogy is exactly the conclusion I wanted for this series.  If you haven’t read this engaging and endearing series, you have missed out on a quest just as good as the one that stupid Potter boy went on, and this one has zombies.  Start with A Town Called Dust, and proceed with glee.

image

Goodreads Summary

Trapped in a city no one knows exists, Squid lies dying as Nim fights for their lives. With every minute, their hope of getting the vaccine back to civilization is fading. From the brink of death and the edge of the world, Squid must once again conquer dangers even more sinister than the undead – the future of humankind depends on it.

But Squid’s efforts will be wasted if Lynn cannot keep the people of Alice safe until he returns, and Lynn is now a hostage of the Holy Order. Forced to face punishment at the hands of the High Priestess, Lynn is at the mercy of the mad cult, as beyond the wall the undead horde continues its relentless approach.

Caught between madness and mindlessness, the odds are stacked against Squid and Lynn. Will they triumph or do they already walk in a world of ash?

My Thoughts

This book really does close the circle on Squid’s evolution, but it does so in way that stays true to the character I have come to love.  While Squid comes into his own, many of the characters were in need of some redemption after book two – I’m pointing at you, Lynn – and this book is really about redemption for this society and for this group of people.  While the character development is important to me, many readers will be looking to see if this installment is up to the action standards we have come to expect.  Yes.  There are several sequences of action that are just as exciting as the battle in Dust, and this time, readers don’t have to wait forever to get there.  Things pick up right where A City Called Smoke left off – you know, at that almost unbearable cliffhanger! Lots of zombies, lots of guns, and a surprising revelation about the cure that Squid has been seeking all happen in just the first chapters.  I did feel like the author chose to skirt a big conflict that he set up in ACCS, and some fans will be disappointed by that because, well, you know people – can’t please everyone.  Glad it pleased me, though.  Overall, I’m really satisfied by this series, and I think other fans will be as well.  Language and situations and interest levels are appropriate for middle school and high school readers.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

