Bright Blaze of Magic – Jennifer Estep wraps up her YA Urban Fantasy series

Standard
Bright Blaze of Magic – Jennifer Estep wraps up her YA Urban Fantasy series

Jennifer Estep’s Black Blade series almost lost me with the second book, Dark Heart of Magic , which lost a lot of the things I loved about the first book, Cold Burn of Magic.  I’m happy to report that this book, the third (and possibly final) in the series, brought back all the warrior woman, action packed, mafia maneuvering that I could desire.

image

Goodreads Summary

“The characters are as fantastic as Estep fans have come to expect.” – RT Book Reviews

Bad Things Always Come In Threes…

As a thief, I’m good at three things: hiding in the shadows, getting in and out unseen, and uncovering secrets. I put these skills to work for the Sinclair Family, one of the magical mobs that run the tourist town of Cloudburst Falls.

Everyone knows Victor Draconi wants to take over all the other Families–and kill every last Sinclair. What they don’t know is that I’m on to him, and no way will I let the man who murdered my mom get away with hurting all the other people I care about. Especially when I’ve got places to break into, stuff to steal, and Devon Sinclair fighting right by my side…

“An adventurous ride you will never want to get off.” –#1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout on Cold Burn of Magic

My Thoughts

Bright Blaze of Magic is exactly what I wanted in the third book of Jennifer Estep’s Black Blade series.  The action kicks off quickly and doesn’t let up until the very end.  The fast pace and focused plot make for a quick and engaging read.  I have to admit that the second book, Dark Heart of Magic, was a disappointment for me with its draggy pace and love-sick teen drama, but Estep regained her footing in this story by giving us back the smart and impetuous thief we all adored in Cold Burn of Magic.  That’s right, folks, the real Lila is back, and she isn’t going to let the Draconi’s take away her new family.  Don’t get me wrong, Lila’s character arc is still in motion, and she has given up her loner status, but she seems to have found her place and purpose and that makes all the difference.  I really felt like this book pulled the series all together, and resolved some long-standing conflicts in a satisfying way.  I’m not sure where Lila’s story will go next, but I’m definitely looking forward to finding out.  Word on the street is that this is the last book in the series, but I didn’t feel that finality, so I can dream, right?  Language and situations are appropriate for grades 8+.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

