Kill the Boy Band – Dark YA humor about being a fan 

Standard
Kill the Boy Band – Dark YA humor about being a fan 

In the vein of some of the great eighties teen movies where a little innocent fun and rebellion turns into a major cluster that has to be covered up before the parents come home, Kill the Boy Band is funny and improbable and a great escape read.  It reminded me of my New Kids On the Block days (fourth grade) when I championed Danny because he was the one member I thought might be unattractive enough to be attainable – I really did think that.  I still have a giant pin of his head that I used to wear on my jean jacket.  No.  I won’t sell it to you, but you can experience the angst and calculated admiration I felt by reading this dark and funny YA.

image

Goodreads Summary

From debut author Goldy Moldavsky, the story of four superfan friends whose devotion to their favorite boy band has darkly comical and murderous results.

Okay, so just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near The Ruperts, our favorite boy band.

We didn’t mean to kidnap one of the guys. It kind of, sort of happened that way. But now he’s tied up in our hotel room. And the worst part of all, it’s Rupert P. All four members of The Ruperts might have the same first name, but they couldn’t be more different. And Rupert P. is the biggest flop out of the whole group.

We didn’t mean to hold hostage a member of The Ruperts, I swear. At least, I didn’t. We are fans. Okay, superfans who spend all of our free time tweeting about the boys and updating our fan tumblrs. But so what, that’s what you do when you love a group so much it hurts.

How did it get this far? Who knows. I mean midterms are coming up. I really do not have time to go to hell.

My Thoughts

There will be crybaby reviewers who will be offended for the perceived insults about fandom or whatever “stereotype” they most closely relate to, but those people have missed the point.  Yes, it’s over the top, but it’s really about those moments when the narrator awakens to those awful coming of age realizations that we all have.  Your perception of a friendship isn’t always the truth. People will sometimes use you to further their own agenda. You often feel passionate about something you will later feel embarrassed about. You are not a unique snowflake having a unique experience – yes, this really is just a phase that almost everyone else has or will experience in some form. Your idols are not as great in real life as in your imagination.  All of these little gems and more are wrapped up in an over-the-top, dark, teen girl version of a The Hangover type of scenario.  I thought it was a lot of fun.  I don’t care how reasonable the scenario is because it wasn’t suppose to be.  Some language, sexual references, and dark situations, but I think it is appropriate for high school readers.  Adult readers who once adored NKOTB or ‘N Sync and fans of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off will get a good laugh as well.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

