A Court of Mist and Fury – the second in Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses series

Standard
A Court of Mist and Fury – the second in Sarah J. Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses series

I have loved Sarah J. Maas since I first read Throne of Glass a few years ago.  I was rather stunned when the books in that series took a sharp turn to Faerie in the third book.  I just wanted a girl assassin. I hate fae stories.  But, I can’t resist, so I blithely followed Ms. Maas into fairy land in A Court of Thorns and Roses, and again in this book, A Court of Mist and Fury.  I have to say this book deserves the five stars I gave it – it’s possibly the best sequel I’ve ever read in a series.  Bonus?  It is reasonably priced at under $9, so I didn’t feel as guilty for buying a book instead of just reading the ones I’m lucky enough to be given.

image

Goodreads Summary

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

My Thoughts

It didn’t take long to recognize that this is the book Maas has been wanting to write for a long time – now I see how the faries invaded her other series.  It is a fantastic follow up to a book I just felt lukewarm about.  The characters are vivid and surprising, and their feelings are palpable and believable.  The relationships are given time to develop and leave room for questions right up until the end.  I have to say the series went epic for me in this book, and I definitely want to see what is next.  The ending is exactly what this book needed to help me forget all the things I was going to complain about.  Seriously – I remember two.

Mild SPOILERS:  There are a few moves I’m beginning to recognize as quintessentially Maas – the biggest one is that she just can’t seem to leave her happily-in-love characters alone.  It doesn’t take long to see that the relationship set up in the first book is not going smoothly.  I think most readers will be satisfied by the end result, but there will be some tears shed in the process.  Another surprise readers will encounter is that Maas makes it clear this isn’t a YA offering.  A Court of Thorns and Roses had more sensuality than any other Maas book I’d read, but this one goes all out with a real deal sex scene early on. It isn’t awful or a reason to forbid your children to read the book, but it is on par with a corset ripper romance novel.  It is discreetly graphic. I want to share these books with my students, but some moms would not approve (but they, themselves, would enjoy it immensely).

Overall, I highly recommend this book.  It is absolutely an escape read, and the characters are complex enough to be enjoyed by a wide range of readers.  Sensuality makes it most appropriate for grades 10+.

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

