Jennifer Lynn Barnes is back with The Long Game

Standard
Jennifer Lynn Barnes is back with The Long Game

I am a huge fan of Jennifer Lynn Barnes. Her protagonists are smart and sassy and every one of them ends up in perilous situations that equal a lot of action and adventure.  My favorite series is The Squad, in which a devout goth girl is forced to join the cheer squad in order to thwart evil.  It is hilarious.  I am a huge fan of her The Naturals series, kind of a Criminal Minds for the YA crowd.  Her latest offering is the follow up to The Fixer, a sort of YA Scandal meets Veronica Mars.  Like I said, her gals are interesting.  All this is to say that if you need something to keep you busy until Tuesday, June 7th, when The Long Game publishes, you have plenty of witty and engaging books to keep you occupied.

image

Goodreads Summary

Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family.

But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate’s campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess’s guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can–and cannot–be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she’s about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

My Thoughts

Wow.  Just . . . wow.  The follow up to Jennifer Barnes’ The Fixer packed more action, conspiracy and twists into its pages than I could have anticipated.  The stakes get a lot higher this time, and, while it sends the story into a realm closer to fantasy than reality, it was quite entertaining.  Seriously.  All I could think about today was getting back home to finish this book.  Characters and relationships evolved nicely, and sometimes surprisingly.  The friendships that Tess made in the first book extend naturally, as do her relationships with her mother and grandfather.  I particularly enjoy that this book puts forward the idea of the powerful protecting the powerless.  I think it adds a nice depth and a gentle commentary on bullying that readers will take to heart.  Language and situations are appropriate for grades 8+, and I can’t wait to add this to my high school classroom library.  This book is a sequel, so you really have to read The Fixer first, and If you find this world as intriguing as I did, you will definitely want to get your hands on The Long Game.

I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

About queenbook

When the final bell rings, I stash those messy piles of essays and analysis assignments in a desk drawer and I head home to a pile of good books. My kids and dog eat too many chicken nuggets and the house could be neater, but as long as I get my daily read, I guess we are doing all right. When I was twelve and fifteen and eighteen and twenty, I believed I needed to get out there and do those things I had just been reading about, which ended in disaster, tears, a tattoo that scares me every time I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, and the realization that some of us are meant for action, and some of us are meant to critique the pace of action in a book. I read primarily YA fiction as I have a rather hulking classroom library and a hundred high school readers to engage daily. Nothing makes me happier than coming to school and finding an impatient teenager waiting by my door to turn in a book and get another one just like it. I adore a good zombie, a medieval princess, or girl assassin (I would like them all in one book if you are a writer looking for some inspiration). I add historical mystery to my wish list a year in advance, and you should get out of my way when the next Outlander book comes out. I have an embarrassing fondness for rock star books, but only if they don’t get too trashy and embarrass me. My favorite book of all time is The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery. My book boyfriends include Gilbert Blythe, Alonzo Wilder, and Jamie Fraser. They are mine and you can’t have them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s